I made a t-shirt

ImageIn a break from all the other things I have been trying to finish I made a t-shirt! I am ridiculously pleased with it – I haven’t sewed a knit fabric before and I was just using a small zig zag on my sewing machine so I wasn’t entirely sure how it would turn out – I had visions of baggy necklines and wonky hems..

The pattern is the Maria Denmark Kirsten Kimono T which is free – it’s a lovely shape and I made the whole thing from start to finish in a couple of hours.

I don’t know what the fabric is exactly – one of the drawbacks of buying my fabric from the amazing remnant section at Abakhan is there is no information about what the fabric actually is – it is a very fine, lightweight jersey – I don’t think it has lycra or anything to hold its’ shape, but it is a really lovely fabric. I found about a meter of this fabric in the ‘t-shirt fabric’ bin at abakhan- this is mainly filled with not particularly nice standard cotton t-shirt fabric, but this piece was really soft and drapey so I grabbed it.

I went by finished garment measurements and the fit is really good. I already want to make more – I just have to find the right fabric!

I don’t know why this pleases me so much more than a skirt or dress – I think it is because it is such a wardrobe basic that I would normally exepct to go out to buy, I have worn it to work and people have commented that they woudln’t have thought it was homemade, so that is a good start.

I have finally made progress on my other projects – Hawthorn is waiting for me to overcome my fear of messing up the whole thing with rubbishy button holes and the Simplicity dress for my daughter is done – she needed it for a party so the finish was rushed and it isn’t properly hemmed yet – more to follow when I can get some pictures!

2 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

