Me Made May 14 – Week One

The night before Me Made May began I actually dreamed about having nothing to wear and woke up feeling panicky about how I would meet my challenge. I have been sewing for nearly a year but I haven’t actually produced a huge number of things – and of the things I have sewn a couple didn’t work out and a couple don’t really fit me now… so definitely a challenge ahead to find things to wear without wearing my flouncy Archer everyday (love that shirt)

Helpfully I dreamed of what I could wear for the first day – my first Archer shirt – so I put it on, got some photos and uploaded to Flickr. I haven’t really joined many flickr groups to date – I have occasionally posted to groups for Colette or Grainline but the sites seemed quite static so it was a surprise to post onto the Me Made May flickr group and find so many photos being uploaded, people commenting on each others photos and giving really positive feedback – suddenly I felt as if I was part of a me-made party (maybe I need to get out more?) I have joined the instagram and pinterest groups as well and there are so many great outfits to see and ideas to store up!

Anyway – I pledged to wear me-made four times a week and this is what I have done so far – click on the images to read more

ImageImageImage

Finally – I made a whole new dress – I did have very sensible plans to focus on wardrobe basics this month (the other part of my challenge to myself) but then Sinbad and Sailor released their Hepworth dress and I absolutely had to drop everything and make it! A couple of lovely versions have already popped up at House of Pinheiro and Scruffy Badger Time. I printed it out on Saturday and got started immediately and by Monday afternoon it was ready to wear. More pictures to follow and probably at least one more version of it!

Image

So – that was my first week of May and a new dress – let’s see how I get on next week! How are you getting on with your challenge?

 

 

 

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Carolyn says:

    Congrats on week 1! It’s definitely a challenge to participate when you don’t have a lot of me-made garments yet, but you seem to be doing great so far. 🙂 I love the idea of pushing yourself to actually wear all those garments we work so hard on making!

    Like

    1. mrszandstra says:

      Thank you! After seeing so many amazing things being posted and so many people wearing entirely self sewn outfits over the first few days I felt a bit under equipped for the month! It is making me thing about where I need to go next – more focus required on what I need!

      Like

  2. Annette says:

    You have a good start. I’m thinking of this month as a way to figure out what I have and what I still need versus all the wants that I have planned and made. I am whipping up basics to fill in my very lopsided and winter inspired wardrobe while getting ready for summer.

    Like

  3. SeeKatSew says:

    I can’t wait to see more pics of your hepworth dress – that colour you picked is so pretty.

    Like

    1. mrszandstra says:

      Thank you so much! I love this dress – the pattern is so easy and goes together perfectly! I have started a dark blue one now

      Like

Leave a Reply

