Me Made May 14 – Week 3

I’m a bit behind this week – I haven’t posted my me-made clothes every day – photographer away has meant taking unimpressive selfies. But I did keep to the challenge and it hasn’t been too much of a struggle – I have started to duplicate my favourites but I haven’t felt as if I really can’t manage to find something for four days a week.

So what did I wear this week? Actually it was a pretty good week – helped by some sunshine finally! hepworth front

My first Sinbad and Sailor Hepworth dress  – I have already worn this a few times and I have entered this dress into Sewing Indie month ‘Everyday Casual’ over on Cashmerette’s blog (check out the post on the Sinbad and Sailor Dove tee – I want to make one of these soon!).

I wore a very quick make which hasn’t been blogged – a white short sleeve Deer and Doe Plantain t-shirt.

Plantain short sleeve T

I really wanted to focus on basics this month and you can’t get more basic than a plain white t-shirt. I cut it out one evening and sewed it up in a few hours the next day. The sleeve edges stretched out a bit as I didn’t use a walking foot, but it isn’t too bad.

At work I wore my blue BHL Anna dress – my first attempt at this dress was a disaster and this was my second attempt which was much more successful though I never blogged it.

Blue Anna

This pic doesn’t capture the print which is swirly fine lines that make me think of muscle fibres! I got a number of compliments on the dress at work which was lovely – I should really wear it more and maybe think about making another one!

Finally this week – the Liesl and Co Cappucino Tunic – to be blogged shortly. This was made as a gift which didn’t fit the recipient so I kept it.

Cappuccino Tunic

I am not absolutely sure about the colour on me, combined with the loose fit it makes me think of hospital scrubs – though I did like it more after wearing it for a day and it was comfortable and light.

I have been sewing a lot this month – I know the challenge isn’t about creating new things but I have been thinking a lot about having a genuinely me-made wardrobe for the future and increasing the number of separates I have that can be worn together.

Has me-made-may changed the way you think about your wardrobe?

Leave a Reply

