Selfless sewing and the Cappuccino Tunic

cappfrontI don’t do a lot of self-less sewing – I find it easiest to fit things on myself and I don’t want to give something as a gift that is less than perfect. For Mother’s Day this year I decided to make something for my mum (I did make a first version in time for Mother’s Day – in case you think I am a very lax daughter – but I went for the wrong size so had to start again). The original version which didn’t fit my mum is the one I am wearing in the pictures.

I wanted to find a top that wouldn’t be too close-fitting and would be pretty straightforward. Liesl and Co had just re-issued the out-of-print but much loved Simplicity Portfolio Dress and Tunic as the Cappuccino Dress and Tunic and the tunic seemed like the perfect option.

cappdetail

I used a very light green fabric that is a mix of cotton and something else (determined very unscientifically through burning a bit, it didn’t melt so I’m thinking not a poly). It feels a bit like washed silk but probably isn’t – it certainly didn’t like a hot iron – I ended up having to unpick and replace a piece that disintegrated when I got carried away with pressing! It is very drapey and should be lovely and cool for wearing in summer.

I did my very first FBA for the gift version – there are clear instructions in the pattern and since this is not an adjustment I ever have to do for myself I thought I would give it a go. My first version was narrower in the bust than I expected given how flowing the top appears to be so I wanted to make sure the final version had more room.

cappsideThe gathered insert and the collar was a little more fiddly than I expected and took quite a while to put together but apart from that the tunic went together very smoothly and once the collar was done it was really quick to finish!

Because I was making this as a gift I put more effort than usual into the finishing, I covered the collar seams with bias binding, used french seams for the sides and back seams and hand sewed the sleeves and hem. I’m so pleased with how it turned out and have sent the new version off to my mum – fingers crossed she likes it!

cappneckI haven’t seen many versions of this pattern around – has anyone else tried this out?

 

 

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Carolyn says:

    This is such a simple and beautiful top, Louise! I especially like all the care you took in finishing – it makes the piece that much more special. Of course it takes extra time, but whenever I take the time to do it, it’s always worth it. Did the newly adjusted top fit your mother?

    Like

    1. mrszandstra says:

      Thankyou – it does fit thankfully and I think she likes it! I don’t have a picture of her wearing it yet though

      Like

  2. Hi Louise, I’ve nominated you for a Liebster award! If you want to participate you can find the details here:
    http://justsewtherapeutic.wordpress.com/2014/06/21/a-liebster-award/
    Enjoy the rest of your weekend!
    Helen x

    Like

    1. mrszandstra says:

      Hi Helen

      Thank you! I never had a Liebster award before so I am really delighted!

      Louise

      Like

Leave a Reply

