Mimi? Oui c’est moi!

mimifront1So after overcoming my fear of flowery fabrics with my Belcarra recently I have chosen another floral print and made a Mimi blouse!

This pattern is included in Tilly’s book ‘Love at First Stitch’ and I bought the book after seeing a picture that Tilly posted of this blouse. I love all the versions in the book – my favourite is definitely the black and white one. Now that I have the book I can confirm that it is a great read and I also want to make the Lilou dress and the Margot pyjamas so it is definitely a worthwhile purchase.

I haven’t seen lots of people making this blouse yet – What Katie Sews has a yellow one and Lauren at Guthrie and Ghani has made one – in a very similar colour to Katie’s.

mimiback

I went for a kind of weak tea coloured viscose print with a pinky purple flowery print – which doesn’t sound particularly lovely, but it is actually very cute. When I first saw it I didn’t think it was for me – as I am not a flower print person, but it was still there next time I went to Abakhan so I snapped it up and now I do like it. The grey/brown colour has a kind of vintage feel (I think so at least – am I crazy?)

I traced the pattern out of the book and as the top is quite loose fitting I went for a size 3 rather than a size 4. This worked out absolutely fine. I managed to cut this out of not much over a metre of fabric which was pretty challenging – there was a certain amount of squeezing everything together to make this happen but it is possible. I didn’t make any attempt to pattern match given the limited amount of fabric that I had but actually in places it magically looks as if I really carefully lined it up!

The instructions are very clear with lots of pictures and explanations of each step and the pattern is drafted really well so that everything fits together exactly where it needs to.

The only part I struggled with was the sleeve pleats and facing (which was entirely my incompetence). I marked the pleat lines on the wrong side then couldn’t get my head round how to fold them on the right side, so they ended up kind of randomly folded together. I don’t think it is too obvious though? For the sleeve facing, having just made two Belcarra tops I think I had it in my head that I was making a kind of a cuff and then I was confused when they are in fact a facing (clue being in the name maybe..)

mimisleeveMy lovely sewing machine makes one step buttonholes pretty much like a dream so buttons hold no fear for me now (except that one always has to randomly go completely wrong and be ripped out – I think that must be some kind of law of sewing surely?)

I absolutely love the finished blouse – I think is dressed up without being too formal and I can see it being worn with a skirt for work and with jeans at the weekend – I definitely need at least another one!

mimifrontSo I seem to be all about the flowery prints just now – so much so that I have gone all out on the print for my Flora dress which is (hopefully) coming up next. Back to solids after that though – don’t want to get carried away!

mimihanger2What is everyone else up to – anyone else embracing their floral side?

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Katie says:

    That’s a lovely Mimi! Definite vintage vibe from the fabric. I need to make another one, my first got ruined in the wash 😦 (but I learned to buy good quality interfacing and to always pre-wash my fabric, I guess).

    Like

    1. mrszandstra says:

      Thank-you! Iit is such a great pattern – I can absolutely see myself making more. I had a similar not pre-washing incident last year and shrunk a skirt to unwearable proportions – it definitely makes you more careful!

      Louise

      Like

  2. qplourde says:

    Very beautiful blouse, I think the sleeves look really cute!

    Like

    1. mrszandstra says:

      Thank-you! – I am so pleased with how it turned out. I think it will get a lot of wear

      Louise

      Like

Leave a Reply

