OWOP – in praise of New Look 6843

owopimageSo that was OWOP – One Week One Pattern!

This challenge was hosted by Handmade Jane and involved wearing an item of clothing made from just one pattern every day for a week. You can either wear a number of different versions of the same pattern or wear one version in different ways. I don’t really do any ‘styling’ of things that I wear so multiple versions of the same pattern was definitely going to be my thing.

And luckily I already had a pattern which I had made several times – and hardly blogged about. I am really pleased to be able to show some love for New Look 6843– it isn’t new or a super cool independent pattern and I haven’t hacked it – but it is the first pattern I used when I started sewing again last year. I decided to make an A-line skirt and I went and bought a Big 4 pattern (because that was how it done when I used to sew very many years ago). There are three options, for a flared skirt (a bit like Hollyburn), a straight skirt and an A line skirt. The envelope art wasn’t hideous and apparently it could be sewn up in an hour!

6843_env_front_1I cut my first attempt based on my RTW size, completely unaware of the sizing and ease issues that many people find with Big 4 patterns – and miraculously the fit was fine. I think if it had not fitted well I might not have carried on sewing as I don’t want to wear clothes which look home-made (in a bad way).  But it came together really well – the zip insertion is a bit wonky but everything else was great. I added a lining because I could! This was the black and blue floral print skirt and I have worn it regularly since finishing it – through summer and winter.

owopcollageOver the last year I have made more because if you work in an office then you can always use another basic skirt! The grey wool version was made last winter and makes me feel rather Mad Men. The blue linen and pink floral flared version were added during Me Made May when I really started to build up a handmade wardrobe. The purple linen version was cut out then but only finished a few weeks ago. My latest version is the black bird print – which I am so pleased with that I wore it for Day 6 and Day 7! The fabric is this lovely cotton sateen print and I lined it with a silvery grey satin.

blackbirdsdetailIt hasn’t been a huge challenge to wear this pattern for a week – the only days that felt odd were the weekend, as I don’t normally wear a ‘work’ skirt then. The pink flared skirt was great for hanging out on a sunny Saturday and shopping, but the purple one felt more ‘office wear’.

pinkskirt detailI already have some totally amazing tweed fabric ready for another straight skirt and I really want more versions of the flared skirt  – more weekend options perhaps!

So how was OWOP for you? Any tips for styling or ideas for what to have ready for next year?

 

 

15 Comments Add yours

  1. Béa says:

    I’m totally loving your black bird skirt! You have a great collection of skirts from that one pattern.

    Like

    1. notsewsimple says:

      Thankyou! Its such a basic pattern but endlessly useful all year round. I will prbably make a few more before next year!

      Louise

      Like

  2. Carolyn says:

    You looked great all week! I love that you chose such a basic pattern for OWOP – it really shows how versatile basic pieces can be in your wardrobe. Sometimes they aren’t as fun to sew, but they always seem to get the most wear. Congrats on completing the challenge!

    I think I have a love/hate relationship with OWOP, which I’ll be blogging about soon, LOL.

    Like

    1. notsewsimple says:

      Thankyou! A basic skirt is good for this challenge but I have really liked seeing posts where people have done different things with a pattern to get completely different looks! Selfies are a drag and you can’t really see the skirt on any detail. Lots to think about before next time! And you (almost) finished your last Archer !

      Louise

      Like

  3. laurajane says:

    Great skirt, great fabric choices! Thanks for sharing! I appreciate your mentioning how and why you chose the pattern – I’m in the same boat. Just re-started sewing after many years. I immediately went to those big pattern books we all trust! I’ve since tried a few indie patterns with varying results. I’ll keep trying, but still love Vogue and NL and McCalls…

    Like

    1. notsewsimple says:

      Thankyou! I do love this pattern and I can always use another skirt for work – recently I have been thinking of experimenting with it though! The whole world of independents was a revelation when I started sewing again – I generally make a muslin for a new pattern and try to work out what changes I need – there is always something!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Your skirts are gorgeous, I especially love the black and blue flowery one and the black bird print. It just goes to show how different a pattern can look depending in the fabric. Really enjoyed seeing your outfits throughout the week, feeling a little sad that it’s over now!

    Like

    1. notsewsimple says:

      Thankyou – no one noticed I was essentially wearing the same outfit so I think a change of colour/pront makes a huge difference. The bird print is my new favourite thing, fabric was so lovely – will wear it a lot this winter – I lined it with satin so it will be great with tights and a jumper!

      Louise

      Like

  5. Jane says:

    Ah this pattern is close to my heart as it’s the first pattern I used when I started sewing too! You have some lovely skirts there, thanks so much for participating. x

    Like

    1. notsewsimple says:

      Thankyou for running it – I really enjoyed taking part!

      Like

  6. Aileen Brown says:

    It’s very dangerous flicking through blogs in my lunch hour. I have just bought New Look 6843 from Amazon! Perfect pattern for work skirts and you have done a brilliant job creating so many different looks.

    Like

    1. notsewsimple says:

      Thankyou – I am very fond of this pattern as it was my first thing so I am delighted you have bought one! It’s very versatile! I cut my RTW size based on finished measurements rather than using body measurements

      Louise

      Like

  7. elly w. says:

    I just bought this pattern to start sewing a yellow skirt to wear to Disney World this summer. I’m going to pair the skirt with a bright blue fitted T-shirt I already have and attempt a casual Snow White look. I’ll also make a pillowcase dress for my two-year-old daughter in the same color scheme. Both patterns I picked up seemed simple enough to try since I haven’t sewed since high school (so over a decade ago…). I was grateful to find this post so I could see what the skirt looked like on a real human! Thank you for posting!

    Like

    1. notsewsimple says:

      Thankyou! It’s a really good basic skirt pattern – good luck making it and enjoy your trip!

      Like

Leave a Reply

