The Bellini sew along

bellini blue sideA few months ago Capital Chic released their first collection. The Bellini blouse was one of the patterns I really liked (along with the Champagne and Manhattan skirts), this blouse has a really clean simple design with no darts to break up prints at the front. I was very tempted to make one as I have tried a number of patterns for woven tops this summer – Belcarra, Sorbetto and Mimi, but life and making other things got in the way so I didn’t get round to it.

Then Sally started a sew-along for the Bellini and after seeing the posts start to come up in my reader I had visions of a lovely crisp blouse and I decided to download the pattern and get cracking.

I got lucky with fabric in Abakhan and I picked up two pieces. The first was a fairly lightweight white cotton with an overprinted white border. The border pattern isn’t very obvious in the pictures (which had to be taken indoors in artificial light due to time constraints and aren’t brilliant…) so you will just have to take my word for it that I matched it up pretty well along the front!
Bellini blouseI also got a slightly thicker blue cotton with thin white stripes and I am very proud of the matching across the collar and down the button band. This fabric looks suspiciously similar to the blue and white print cotton Sally used for the sew-slong but I prefer to think of it as inspired by rather than copied in a weird stalker way! I thought one fabric could be a muslin but in fact the first attempt fit perfectly so I now have two very lovely versions.
Bellini blouseI was going to cut a size 12 at the bust grading to a 14 at the waist but as my measurements were kind of inbetween I went for a 14 all over and I think that was the right decision as it fits pretty well across the chest and a 12 might have been a little snug.
Bellini blouse
I found the written instructions were clear but brief and the sew along instructions were incredibly detailed – lots of pictures and videos – so much help on things like sewing french seams and pressing seams. Attaching the collar and facings is a bit tricky as you have lots of layers to line up and the sew-along went through this step by step which was really easy to follow. I have done a few collars and facings now and I went very slowly and carefully on these bits to get everything looking even on both sides – I have some wonky collars on previous makes and I think that getting those details wrong can really make something look obviously home-made. The pattern is beautifully drafted and comes together exactly as the instructions suggest (so your rolled hem really does match the bottom edge of the facing when it is finished and the collar does end up in the right spot)
Bellini blouse
I am so pleased with my two finished tops and I think they will get a lot of wear – Sally used the Bellini for OWOP and it really is a versatile top.

Have you tried any Capital Chic patterns yet and have you joined the sew-along?

11 Comments Add yours

  1. Hi Laura! Sally here from Capital Chic. I love both of your Bellinis, you’ve done a fantastic job getting a great finish on them both! I hope you are pleased with them! So glad to hear you found the sewalong useful as well. I tried to include as much detail as possible but worried I went a bit overboard in places!
    Anyway, great work!

    Like

  2. Really love these, I’ve had some pale blue gingham in my stash for a while which was destined to be a short sleeved shirt, looks like it could be a Bellini next spring! The white fabric is gorgeous, such a delicate print!

    Like

    1. notsewsimple says:

      Thank you! I am so pleased with them – I tried lots of woven tops this year and I think these may be my favourite. Gingham would work really well I think. A small part of me wonders if the white looks like a tablecloth but I am ignoring that thought!

      Like

  3. maevef2014 says:

    Both of these shirts are really sweet. I love the dainty little collar. I think I’ll be adding this pattern to my work clothes wishlist😆

    Like

    1. notsewsimple says:

      Thank you! It’s a lovely shape I think and I am really pleased with how mine turned out so totally recommend it
      Louise

      Like

  4. Carolyn says:

    These look really cute and versatile. I can see your excellent pattern matching on both tops and am definitely impressed. 🙂 It seems like the white one will go with everything. I hope both versions get a lot of wear!

    Like

    1. notsewsimple says:

      Thank you! Wearing the white one today. Really recommend the pattern – it can together perfectly

      Louise

      Like

Leave a Reply

