Season of mists and Moneta

MonetaSo far my autumn sewing seems to be a lot about knits – I made the Skaterprincess dress last week and the muslin for it has also had quite a lot of wear and now I have made a Colette Moneta. I have seen versions of this dress popping up all summer and I don’t think I have seen one that really hasn’t worked – it genuinely seems to work for all shapes and sizes. There is a detailed sew-along for this dress which was very helpful.

My autumn has also been about deeper, richer colours – this is a big departure from the colour palette that I worked out earlier in the year which was a lot of blue, greys and cooler colours. I don’t know whether this is a permanent shift or just an evolution but it is interesting to see what I end up with!

MonetaI didn’t make a Moneta earlier because I struggle to find good quality knit fabric locally. I love Abakhan, which is my local fabric shop, but they don’t seem to have a wide variety of jersey fabrics, so I have been branching out into online shopping. I ordered this aubergine viscose knit fabric from Clothspot (same supplier as the pink ponte I used for the skater princess). The fabric is light with some body so it skims over lumps and bumps, is densely woven enough to be hard to pin and doesn’t have a huge amount of stretch. The site described this fabric as ‘ a perfect choice for ..gathered garments’ so it seemed ideal to try it out on a Moneta.

I didn’t make a muslin – I figured that a knit fabric would be fairly forgiving and it wouldn’t be the end of the world if it wasn’t a success. So this is really a wearable muslin.

MonetaThe part of making a Moneta that I was most worried about was using clear elastic to gather the waist. Many people seem to have struggled with this step or found an alternative method. My machine is a bit temperamental when it comes to sewing clear elastic and for some reason I often find that the thread in the needle breaks and I have to stop what I am doing to rethread. I used a long straight stitch with quite low tension to sew the elastic. This wasn’t perfect but it did work and I didn’t have the thread break this time but the sewing was a bit wonky in places and the gathering isn’t entirely even. For a first attempt though I think it isn’t too bad and I am happy enough to wear it. I wonder if you can unpick the basting stitch and remove the elastic after the skirt is attached to the bodice as I don’t love the feel of the elastic at my waist?

MonetaI really like the shape and it is very easy to wear. The neckline is a fraction wider than I would like – enough to worry about bra straps showing. For winter it could do with a slip underneath to stop the skirt sticking to my tights (as you can see in the picture above!). I definitely want to make more – to get the gathering right and maybe try a collar variation!

Moneta
I am thinking about a print version in a slightly heavier jersey – any suggestions of the best places to find some gorgeous jersey prints?

10 Comments Add yours

  1. It really looks lovely on you, the colour is nice and rich and perfect for autumn. I’ve been tempted by the Moneta but seeing as I haven’t made my ladyskater yet it’s quite a way down the queue! I had the same concerns as you regarding the clear elastic, I have to use my walking foot for things like that and my machine still protests! I have had more luck with rubber swimwear elastic which I found on ebay. I really like the neckline of the moneta though so maybe I’ll just have to dive in and give it a go!

    Like

    1. notsewsimple says:

      The colour of the fabric is lovely – I really recommend Clothspot! The elastic was the only tricky bit and you could easily use a different type of elastic. I really like the result and I want to make more – it’s ideal for work! I also have lady skaters to blog next… Louise

      Like

  2. For a wearable muslin it looks fabulous and I love the fabric – it is just perfect for autumn.
    I have a few Colette patterns and always hesitate as I know I’m going to need a whole raft of alterations. It’s great to see how yours fits.
    It was lovely meeting you last Saturday and great to catch up with your makes on your blog 🙂

    Like

    1. notsewsimple says:

      Thank you! It was really lovely to meet you as well – hope we can do it again soon as I am still regretting all the fabric I didn’t buy! I found this fairly straightforward (except the elastic) I cut a medium for the bodice, grading to large at the waist and it fits pretty well – just a very small amount of gape in the centre of neckline, I have only tried Hawthorn apart from this which was also fine

      Louise

      Like

  3. Carolyn says:

    This rich color looks great on you! I’ve heard so many people raving about the Moneta, and I’m glad the fit turned out pretty well for you. Unfortunately I can’t recommend a source for quality jersey, especially prints. I think it’s one of the hardest fabrics to find! Why is that??

    Looking forward to seeing more of your fall projects. I notice that I tend to deviate from my usual colors a bit in fall too, but I always bounce back eventually. 🙂

    Like

    1. notsewsimple says:

      Thankyou! I am pleased with how this dress turned out – I will definitely make another when I find some good fabric!

      Louise

      Like

  4. Marianne says:

    Beautiful dress! To answer your question about the clear elastic: it’s main job is stabilizing the seam. When done correctly it is IN the seam. When you work wit a very stretchy fabric you will love the help it provides in keeping the seam near your waist! Removing is not an option, but you can place it so that it’s between layers in the finished dress.

    Like

    1. notsewsimple says:

      Thankyou! I need to take a look at how i did the seam so i can enclose it more next time! Louise

      Like

Leave a Reply

