My first Monthly Stitch – Named Dakota dress

Dakota dressSo I have been following the Monthly Stitch for a while and although there have been lots of themes I thought about joining in with, I didn’t manage it until they announced Frocktober. How complicated could it be to make a dress in a whole month? One of the featured patterns for the month was the Named Dakota dress and the deal was sweetened with a discount!  When I started planning I had plenty of time but life got in the way and here I am posting with barely hours to spare.

I first noticed the pattern last year when Named Patterns launched but I didn’t love the way it was styled with a blouse underneath the bodice. I haven’t worn anything like that since wearing a pinafore dress at primary school and I felt as if a blouse would get bunched up and make the bodice too bulky. It was only when Rachel made her version out of ponte with the neckline closed that I saw the potential in this pattern.

Ponte is my new favourite thing this autumn so I was excited to try another project using it. I found some beautiful black ponte from Clothspot which is really lovely and soft to the touch and has lots of drape.
Dakota NotsewsimpleI downloaded the pattern in sizes 38-40 and traced a 38 top and waist, grading out to a 40 at the hip. This design is intended to be quite loose at the waist so that you can pull it on even using woven fabrics, so I went by the finished measurements to get a more fitted bodice as the ponte has some stretch – this meant the sizes I used were a size down from those suggested by the body measurements. The pattern is nested so you have to trace it and it is slightly annoying that each size is offset so you can’t easily grade between them – you need to work out the difference between each size and then add it. I did make a muslin for the bodice which turned out fine but then decided to take a risk on the skirt and sleeves fitting (living on the edge!)

The pattern instructions are very brief and I relied heavily on Rachel and Marie’s sewalong which is very detailed and has lots of pictures of tricky bits such as getting the collar right. My collar facing wouldn’t lie flat and wanted to pop out so I stitched it down through the seam along the back of the neck to hold it in place. It could probably still do with being catch stitched in place along the front neckline.
Dakota
I am particularly proud of the way all the skirt seams matched up with the darts and bodice seams – I usually find that I end up with one or two completely not matching! I machine-basted each one in place before finally stitching the bodice and skirt together to make sure that they all stayed in place.

I skipped the sleeve plackets and also the pockets (I don’t need anything drawing attention to my hips thank-you!) but otherwise I didn’t make any changes. Interestingly although the instructions suggest that the sleeve needs to be eased into the arm, I found I didn’t need to do any easing at all and the sleevehead fit perfectly. I have no idea if this means I cut something out incorrectly or there wasn’t a lot of ease anyway but it definitely made it easier for me which is always a bonus.
dakota side
I haven’t made a solid black dress before and I think I probably need a pop of colour with it – I don’t do belts so maybe coloured tights or a cardigan?  Overall I am really pleased with how this turned out, it is smart and work-appropriate but comfortable. Thanks to the Monthly Stitch for finally giving me the push I needed to make this dress! Let’s see if I manage to complete another challenge or not!

Anyone else sewing for Frocktober?

Coming soon – it’s almost Halloween and I have a costume to make – nothing complicated though…

 

 

12 Comments Add yours

  1. Ann M says:

    It looks great and you look lovely wearing it. Good job!

    Like

    1. notsewsimple says:

      Thankyou! I’m really pleased with how it turned out

      Louise

      Like

  2. maevef2014 says:

    Your Dakota turned out perfect. I like how you finished the front neckline. I have muslined the bodice and intend to make it some time this autumn. Your inspiring me to order the fabric and get started..
    I think the black dress will make a great background to lots of different coloured tights/ cardi combos.

    Like

    1. notsewsimple says:

      Thank you! I am definitely planning coloured tights this autumn- I may also try it with some purple shoes I have! Louise

      Like

  3. This dress looks so great on you, the fit is perfect, great sewing job 🙂

    Like

    1. notsewsimple says:

      Thankyou! I am really pleased with how it turned out!

      Like

  4. Carolyn says:

    Wow, this dress looks so different with the neckline closed a bit more! I like it much better this way, as I think it’s 100% more wearable. Great decision to make this modification.

    Your dress came together so nicely, and I’m glad the sleeves and skirt fit with no issues! In basic black, I bet you’ll get a ton of wear out of this dress. I would definitely wear colored tights with it, but this is coming from a woman who doesn’t own anything black. 🙂

    Like

    1. notsewsimple says:

      I can’t take the credit for changing the neckline – Rachel from House of Pinheiro made a version last year like this which totally changed my mind about this dress – I wouldn’t have worn it over a blouse and I do think the ponte versions of this dress work a bit better than the woven versions. I feel very serious when I am all in black – I wore it for work when I had to spend a day with a financial consultant!

      Louise

      Like

      1. Carolyn says:

        Haha! Do people in finance wear more black than the rest of us? 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

