A wintery lady skater

Lady Skater dressIt isn’t that often that I see fabric and know immediately that I will make a specific pattern with it. More often I have a general idea of things I might want to make and then see some fabric that might work or might become something else entirely.

When I saw this fabric – at the SewBrum meet up – I immediately saw a wintery Kitschycoo Lady Skater dress. So I bought some and made one – end of story and very easy.

Lady SkaterThe fabric is a thick jersey knit – a similar weight to ponte – it was called Viscount knit at Barry’s but I have no idea if that is a brand name. The fabric is very stable so the finished dress is quite close fitting. The fabric is largely poly I think, which wouldn’t normally be my choice but I decided to go ahead with it and it is comfortable to wear and was as easy as regular ponte to sew and press.

The print really isn’t my usual style (large and very floral!) and part of me worries that it looks like curtains or something and is a bit too much – this may just be pattern-averse weirdness on my part or it may be true but it doesn’t seem to have stopped me from wearing this in public.

Lady SkaterI think everybody knows the Lady Skater by now? I cut a 4 in the bodice, grading out to a 5 at the waist and hips. I cut the length of the largest size. I didn’t make any shoulder adjustments and I haven’t felt as it if needed any. I made an initial unblogged version earlier last year in a cotton jersey and it is really straightforward to sew and I find it a flattering shape. My first version was fractionally too long in the bodice so I simply folded out about 2cm in the bodice pattern piece below the bust on this one. I also used the Lady Skater as the basis for the bodice of my Skater Princess dress since I liked the fit so much.

Lady SkaterI had an idea of this dress with a big thick scarf and a snowy background – we still haven’t had any snow here so I have had to abandon that vision but the dress has had quite a lot of wear (with a thick wooly scarf) over this winter.

Anyone else think this looks like weird curtains? Or can you see the wintery appeal that it had in my head?

 

15 Comments Add yours

  1. stitchedupsam says:

    It doesn’t look like curtains at all! I’ve made a dress in the same fabric in purple, but I like yours better.

    Like

    1. notsewsimple says:

      Thankyou – the print is rather outside my usual style and I tend to be over-cautious about this kind of things but I am really pleased that this dress turned out exactly as I envisaged it!

      Louise

      Like

  2. Lynne says:

    This is gorgeous, and the fabric definitely doesn’t say curtains to me.

    Like

    1. notsewsimple says:

      Thankyou – I think I am just overly cautious about all over prints – I feel more comfortable with a print skirt than a whole dress!
      Louise

      Like

  3. I love the fabric, the print on it is very elegant!

    Like

    1. notsewsimple says:

      Thankyou! I love the combination of grey and black

      Louise

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Amanda says:

    No curtain thoughts for me! Looks like a fabulous fit too!

    Like

    1. notsewsimple says:

      Thankyou – the stable jersey holds everything in and it is lovely and warm!

      Louise

      Liked by 1 person

  5. It looks lovely and not at all like curtains. Strangely enough I ordered some Ponte for another Lady Skater and when it came the other half said it would make nice curtains! The flowers are a lot bigger than I anticipated, I really struggle with scale when ordering online!

    Like

    1. notsewsimple says:

      Yes – i am the same – I am always drawn to prints online but you never really know quite how they wil turn out so I haven’t ordered much! I love White Stuff prints but haven’t found anything similar anywhere

      Louise

      Like

  6. ginnie31 says:

    I think it looks great and love the choice of fabric.

    Like

    1. notsewsimple says:

      Thank you so much! I do like it – i just feel a bit weird in all over prints

      Louise

      Like

  7. Carolyn says:

    I really like this fabric, and the dress! The colors are so neutral that it really doesn’t scream floral print, especially from a distance. I think it will be a really nice choice for winter.

    If you’re looking for snow, you’re welcome to take some of ours. 🙂 There are about 4 feet currently on the ground!

    Like

    1. notsewsimple says:

      I would love to see some real snow – we have had hardly any here though i guess the novelty wears off very quickly !

      Like

Leave a Reply

