Warm and cosy pyjamas of joy…

pjsfront1Hi there – its still cold and grey and wet here, hope you are all coping with winter wherever you are?

Since going out isn’t much fun right now I have been focussing on being cosy. Pyjamas are something that I wear a lot at home (who doesn’t like to sew in comfort?) For some reason I have never tried making pyjamas, I love my M&S pjs but it occurred to me that I really ought to try making my own.

New Look 6321
Please notice magic (unplanned!) pattern matching…

First I found the perfect fabric – at Abakhan in the flannelette remnants basket. This is a super soft and cosy fabric – quite thick – thicker than I imagine a flannel shirt fabric would be, I love the colours and I feel as if the print has a slightly Scandinavian look – what do you think?

The recent New Look patterns half price sale gave me the opportunity to stock up on a few new patterns and I picked up New Look 6321 with options for woven pyjama trousers and shorts, raglan t-shirts and a nightshirt.

The pyjama bottom pattern pieces are unisex so I was cautious about how much ease would be included. I laid an existing pair of pyjamas over the pattern to get a sense of how the sizes matched up and  particularly the shape of the crotch curve.New Look 6321I noticed that my RTW pjs had a similar crotch curve (see below) but the bottom part of the curve wasn’t nearly as long as the pattern piece (and I feel as if I have seen this when comparing RTW trousers to patterns?). Trouser fitting and crotch curves are a dark art to me and I have no idea why the pattern would have so much extra curve? Does anyone else have thoughts about why there might be such a big difference?New Look 6321I didn’t want to make a muslin so I cut these based on my RTW pair but very much on the generous side (XS at the inseam and large at the outer leg) and I could easily shave a few inches off the side seams if I make them again, particularly below the knee where they are a bit flappy (technical pyjama term).

And it turns out that pjs really are ridiculously easy to make – just a few seams! I sewed the seams on my sewing machine and then used the overlocker to finish both seam allowances together and pressed them to the side. This fabric is unlikely to fray but I think the finish looks super neat like this. The waistband is turned over twice to form a casing and I sewed a piece of elastic onto two pieces of ribbon to make a super easy (and pretty) closure. There are two buttonholes sewn at the front seam for the elastic and ribbon to thread through.New Look 6321There really wasn’t a difficult bit to this whole process – it took longer to trace the pattern than it did to sew it all together and now I can lounge around the house in style! I am imagining a lighter cotton pair for spring (if it ever comes..)New Look 6321

My top is yet another Dixie DIY Hot Cocoa sweater – I have been a bit obsessed with this top recently and this is my fourth. Since I first made it I have been cutting the body a little wider to fit my shoulders better and I have been wearing these tops a lot!

So – is anybody else spending the winter in hand-made lounge wear?

 

9 Comments Add yours

  1. Lynne says:

    Brilliant! What’s not to love about jammies, and yey to magic pattern matching.

    Like

    1. notsewsimple says:

      Thankyou! I am very pleased with them – even with flappy legs – super comfy

      Louise

      Like

  2. Very nice! When I am not at work, I’m at home in my PJ’s!

    Like

    1. notsewsimple says:

      I know exactly what you mean! Its so nice to be wearing comfortable clothes after a long day!

      Louise

      Louise

      Like

  3. Noelle says:

    Nice fabric for the bottoms. And yes, I’ve been wearing lindens + Hudson’s all winter and am starting to think about spring pjs now.

    Like

    1. notsewsimple says:

      Thanks! I am very pleased with my winter pyjamas

      Louise

      Like

  4. Carolyn says:

    These looks so cozy and comfortable! I’m in PJs whenever I’m in the house, even if it’s the middle of the day. 🙂 I should really try sewing my own!

    Like

    1. notsewsimple says:

      I know – it was ridiculously easy and even though these are very over-sized they are so comfortable!

      Like

Leave a Reply

