Spring Forward! Sewaholic Davie Dress

Sewaholic Davie dressThis post is brought to you thanks to the arrival of British Summer Time! I finished the hem at about 5pm today and I was able to rush outside and get some photos while there was still sun in the garden. Admittedly it was quite cold and windy and I wouldn’t really wear this without a cardigan – but still – sunshine, completed dress, blog pictures – I call that a win!

This is the Sewaholic Davie dress. As soon as the pattern came out I knew it was exactly the shape that I love – fitted bodice and flared skirt, with the additional bonus of being a super comfy knit. Sewaholic have also posted a useful Q&A this week. I downloaded the PDF within a few days and got started last weekend. I chose the longer version with cap sleeves. I cut a 10 for the bodice, grading out to a 12 between the waist and hip.

This dress is really straightforward to make – particularly if you take the easy route as I did and skip all the topstitching. I used my overlocker for all the seams. So this dress could have been done a week ago – except I had a bit of a saggy disaster moment…Sewaholic Davie dressThe fabric is a navy blue viscose jersey from Clothspot. One of the (many) things I love about Clothspot is that they put a lot of effort into providing really informative descriptions of their fabrics, including detailed descriptions of the colours, what you could use the fabric for and how it behaves. This is one of the very useful things they said about this fabric: “It’s a fairly robust fabric which has some weight once you’re holding a metre or two. For that reason we’d suggest lining or otherwise adding some structure in order to help it retain its shape.” So it’s a shame that I didn’t think about any of that as I cut two metres out into very long panels without any support…Sewaholic Davie dressI tried the dress on with the sides pinned together – I didn’t think it looked that bad until I realised that the underarms were so low that you could see my bra straps, the curve of the princess seam was way below where it should be and the keyhole was also badly situated!Sewaholic Davie dressBasically the weight of the fabric was pulling the whole bodice down quite a long way. At this point I put it all to one side and felt a bit depressed about the whole process. This weekend I pulled myself together and went back to it. I wasn’t convinced I would be able to save it but I really like both the fabric and the pattern so it seemed worth giving it a go.

First I cut the shoulder seams off and repinned the shoulders one and half inches below the orginal edges. This change meant that I had to cut the back neckline down a bit to match the new seamlines but I didn’t make any change to the front neck line. Obviously it is now a bit higher than in the original pattern but I think it looks fine.Sewaholic Davie dressI also cut about three inches off the bottom of the skirt to reduce the weight pulling everything down. I took about an inch off the side seams from the armhole to the waist to help to hold it all in place.Sewaholic Davie dressI was quite lazy about finishing it off after all the pain of re-fitting – I simply turned under and topstitched the neckline and sleeves and I overlocked the bottom edge, turned it up once and stitched it down. I used the overlocker on all the internal seams and used a straight stitch for all the top stitching as my narrow zigzag was looking a little bit wobbly.

Sewaholic Davie dressI am really pleased with the finished dress and have plans to wear it tomorrow – which is always a good indicator of success. The adjustments seem to have fixed the worst of the sagging, though it will be interesting to see how it holds up through a day of wear. I really want to make more versions when I find the magic jersey fabric that is not too heavy and not too clingy!

So – I am still learning about knit fabric it appears. Has anyone else had to do major surgery to make something work?

 

27 Comments Add yours

  1. Wow! Lovely dress. You did a bang-up job!

    Like

    1. notsewsimple says:

      Thankyou! I’m amazed it turned out so well after such a difficult start!

      Like

  2. gilliancrafts says:

    That turned out really well! I love viscose knits, but they do pull out of shape easily. I’m glad you were able to resew the shoulders and make it all work!

    Like

    1. notsewsimple says:

      I am really still getting to grips with knits and hadn’t had this happen before! You learn something new every time!

      Like

  3. Good save! The dress looks beautiful.

    Like

    1. notsewsimple says:

      Thankyou! I’m pleased it turned out so well!

      Like

  4. I love it when you can’t wait to wear your latest make! Looks great on you, despite its issues. A very cłassy design 🙂

    Like

    1. notsewsimple says:

      Yes – planning to wear it today – it’s a lovely design!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. That’s a really professional-looking dress. I’m impressed with your ability to fit the dress on the go. I actually prefer the slightly higher neckline post-adjustment. And thanks for the recommendation on a fabric shop I hadn’t heard of before.

    Like

    1. notsewsimple says:

      Thankyou – it was very much driven by desperation – I couldn’t bear to waste the fabric so nothing to lose!

      Like

  6. Carolyn says:

    Louise, what a great save! From the look and fit of the finished dress, you’d never know you had to make such drastic adjustments. It really came out beautifully, and the silhouette looks fantastic on you. I hope you’re enjoying wearing it today! 🙂

    Like

  7. nanacathy2 says:

    Very pretty and so impressed at the fitting effort!

    Like

  8. Lynne says:

    What a great save! It looks fab.

    Like

    1. notsewsimple says:

      Thankyou! I have worn it today and I am officially very pleased with it and I want to make another!

      Like

  9. Good job putting it together. It looks lovely now.

    Like

  10. Carol says:

    I love this dress. You look great in it too so well done!! When I get round to making it I think it’ll be in navy, it’s very smart!

    Like

  11. You did a great job with this! So happy to see the Davie made up, this is the first one I’ve seen in the blogosphere. Such a classic style and you look great in it. I hope you get to wear it lots!

    Like

    1. notsewsimple says:

      Thankyou! I really love this dress – it is a style I like, easy to put together and super comfortable – I am looking out for lighter weight jersey to make more!
      Louise

      Like

  12. The dress is lovely on you – I have the pattern and fabric ready to go – it’s patiently waiting it’s turn!

    Like

    1. notsewsimple says:

      Thankyou – I totally recommend this pattern, it’s really straightforward to sew and I love this shape!
      Louise

      Like

  13. lsaspacey says:

    Excellent final fit, that dress looks amazing on you!

    Like

    1. notsewsimple says:

      Thankyou! It is already a favourite and I bought fabric for another one!

      Like

  14. Jenny says:

    I’m late to this post, but had exactly the same issue with my Davie. I lifted the shoulders about 6cm which threw everything else off too much for me to be happy with so it got binned. It hadn’t occurred to me that the fabric weight was the issue, I assumed it was the pattern itself, so thanks for your insight. Makes me a bit nervous of trying it again though…

    Like

    1. notsewsimple says:

      Thankyou – my fabric was very stretchy and quite heavy which is apparently not a good combination but may be hard to avoid with the number of long pieces that make up the dress – mine is fine after the changes though which was lucky. I am trying again with different fabric so will let you know if I have the same issue!
      Louise

      Like

Leave a Reply

