It’s Chardon time – two skirts in a week

Deer and Doe Chardon skirtHi Everyone – After getting all excited about the start of spring following a beautiful sunny few days, I dodged wind and rain to take photos today and the heating is back on. But on a positive note, I just had a week off work, a lovely Easter weekend with family and lots of sewing happened this week.

I finally got round to making the Deer and Doe Chardon skirt. I have had this pattern for a few months now and bought some fabric for it a while ago but I hesitated about getting started. When I first saw this pattern I really didn’t think it was my style at all, the bell shaping at the hips is quite distinctive and as someone who is always keen to avoid drawing attention to that area I assumed it wouldn’t suit me. But this pattern works well on so many people – see here, here and here. I had also got used to pleats on my Skater Princess dress which I love and wear every week, so I was feeling positive about a skirt with a bit more volume.Deer and Doe Chardon skirtI made up a quick muslin to see how it looked on me and I decided to go for it. I initially cut a 44 waist going up to 46 hips and it may not have been great idea trying the muslin immediately after a weekend of chocolate and roast dinners as my first version was rather snug. I sized up the waist but the final versions are now a little too loose. I could go back and take the sides in but I have a feeling I am not going to bother (what do you think?).

My first version used a soft grey chambray fabric from Abakhan. Deer and Doe Chardon skirtThis skirt comes together surprisingly quickly – the pleats and top-stitching are definitely the most time-consuming part of the whole process. After I had done all this on the grey skirt I realised I didn’t have a suitable zip to finish it off. Since it was already too late to buy one that day I ended up cutting a second skirt and by the morning I had two skirts that just needed a zip!Deer and Doe Chardon skirtThe black skirt is made from a cotton ‘linen-look’ print that I bought at Ditto in Brighton last week. It was lovely to have the chance to visit a new to me shop and Ditto has so much beautiful fabric. I saw this print on their website first – called ‘Japanese Circles’ but it is no longer on the site so I guess it sold out. This fabric is much more crisp than the chambray and really holds the pleats well. I cut the skirt out of a metre and a half so I didn’t have room for about print matching. It isn’t disastrous but it would have been nice to have made a bit more effort since I really love the finished skirt!Deer and Doe Chardon skirtOne of the joys of the Chardon is the insides – I love how neat the hem looks finished with bias tape and I did include the pockets even though I absolutely never put anything in pockets (except occasionally my hands). I used leftover cotton from my swallow Hawthorn dress for the pockets on the grey skirt and crepe backed satin on the black skirt.Deer and Doe Chardon skirtThis was also the first time I have really used my overlocker on woven fabric projects and it does make finishing seams so much easier than before. I always feel that zigzag finishes aren’t that durable, so I love my neatly finished overlocked seams and I can’t imagine being without the overlocker now!Deer and Doe Chardon skirtFinally, the Chardon skirts have thrown up an important wardrobe realisation – I don’t have tops that work with such high-waisted skirts. I wouldn’t normally wear a t-shirt tucked in and most of my tops are a bit longer. The top I am wearing here is a Deer and Doe Plantain tee (free pattern!) made out of lovely silvery jersey from Clothspot.

Has anyone else reconsidered a pattern that they assumed wasn’t for them – and did it work or did you just not care because you liked it so much?

23 Comments Add yours

  1. That’s a really versatile pattern. Both variations look good, and I especially like the swallow fabric pockets. I recently tried a pattern that I thought wasn’t for me….. and it really wasn’t!! It’s my latest blog post, if you fancy a peek!

    Like

    1. notsewsimple says:

      I have had that several times as well – for once I am pleased with the result rather than wishing I hadn’t bothered!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Really like both of these on you, but particularly the second. Thè Japanese fabric is beautiful 🙂

    Like

    1. notsewsimple says:

      Thankyou! The Japanese print is really lovely!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. These look great on you and I love your choice of fabrics. The secret swallows are a really nice touch too!

    Like

    1. notsewsimple says:

      Thankyou! It was good to check out a different fabric shop- wish I had more choice locally

      Like

  4. They are lovely, I knew the pattern would suit you. I’m actually rather jealous of the Japanese circle one. It is tricky what to wear them with as it’s a shame to cover up the detailed waistband, I tend to do the same as you with a tucked in tee and then layer it up with a cropped cardie. I’ve held out on the Colette Moneta as I didn’t think the gathered waist would work for me but everytime I see one I get more and more tempted! X

    Like

    1. notsewsimple says:

      Thankyou – I was so sceptical about the pattern for ages but now I love it! The circles print is lovely – it was good to be able to go to a really nice fabric store (but probably good for my wallet that I don’t live nearer!) I do like Moneta and I am not a fan of gathers usually – definitely worth a go!

      Louise

      Like

  5. Hélène says:

    I made a Chardon in chambray last summer and I definitely needed to pair it with a cropped cardigan. This is a fun skirt to wear although I thought it wasn’t my style. A nice surprise. Love yours (I think it looks better when the waist is not extra tight).

    Like

    1. notsewsimple says:

      Thankyou! I don’t normally wear high waisted styles so I will need to think about some slightly more cropped tops. I am really pleased that I finally tried this pattern

      Louise

      Like

  6. Carolyn says:

    I think there is a lot to be said about trying a silhouette that you wouldn’t normally wear. Even if it doesn’t wind up working out, it can be a fun adventure! I’m trying to do this more myself. I think your skirts came out beautifully, and I love the fun pockets. I bet these skirts would look great with a crop top, if you dare! I’m trying to psych myself up to try one. 🙂

    Like

    1. notsewsimple says:

      Thankyou! It’s good to try something and love it after the Nascha skirt not quite working out… I don’t know if I am quite ready for a crop top – although – what about Named Kanerva without the peplum?!

      Like

      1. Carolyn says:

        Oh, that would be perfect! It’s cropped for high-waisted skirts, but not quite a full crop top. Will be curious to see if you give it a try. 🙂

        Like

      2. notsewsimple says:

        I am tempted – can’t remember when I last wore a cropped top though!

        Like

  7. That turned out really well! I love trying different fabric on my pockets and facings! I always stay away from pencil skirts, but since this one has pleats, I might just try it out!

    Like

    1. notsewsimple says:

      I thought this style wouldn’t work for me but I do love it and it is pretty sweet tooth straightforward to sew – definitely give it a go!

      Louise

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Your pocket lining with the swallows on is perfection!

    Like

    1. notsewsimple says:

      Thankyou! I am not usually bothered about pockets but they are useful for scraps of lovely fabric!

      Like

    1. notsewsimple says:

      Thankyou – I’m glad you like it!

      Like

Leave a Reply

