Looking forward to Me Made May and another Moneta

Colette MonetaHi all – if there is a floral dress it must be Spring – to quote Miranda Priestly ‘florals for spring… groundbreaking’. And if it is Spring it must be time to plan for Me Made May!

This dress uses a second piece of fabric from my trip to Ditto Fabrics in Brighton. I can’t find the fabric on their website but I found a pink version on ebay here so you can take a closer look. It is a Liberty viscose jersey and I love the print which I think is not overwhelmingly ‘flowery’.

Colette MonetaThe pattern is Colette Moneta – I have made two before – here and here – so I apologise if I am boring anyone – but you know – this one is Liberty! This pattern is such a wardrobe staple for me – the blue one I made most recently is worn pretty much every week.Colette MonetaI finally remembered to make the shoulders a little bit wider as I find that the other ones are slightly too wide and I have to be careful about bra straps showing. I flattened the curve of the neckline a little but otherwise I used the same size as previously – medium bust and shoulders grading out to a large at the waist and cutting the length of the largest size. Similar to the problem I had with my Davie dress the viscose fabric is quite heavy and it does drag the bodice down. You can see in the pictures that the waist seam is sitting lower than in my previous versions. I don’t think it is a huge problem and after wearing it for a day I haven’t found that it sags too much while I am wearing it.Colette MonetaI can’t believe it is already time to get ready for Me Made May. Last year was the first time I participated and it made a huge difference to my sewing. I pledged to wear things I had made four times a week, to build up my hand made wardrobe and to blog more regularly. Apart from the daily photographs (which were a pain with a fairly rubbish phone camera) I really enjoyed the process. I discovered that I did want to make the jump from having some handmade clothes to having a whole handmade wardrobe. I have bought virtually no RTW clothes since then and I now wear handmade clothes most days.

So what will be a challenge for me this year?

1. I want to try to wear my handmade clothes every day – there will be repeats because I currently rely on a few pieces that I wear a lot but I will try to keep them to a minimum.

2. I will sort out (and cull!) what is curently in my wardrobe and develop a plan for a coherent spring and summer wardrobe – I already have some thoughts, so it will be good to have a more focussed plan.

What are your plans for Me Made May? What will be a challenge for you?

 

 

14 Comments Add yours

  1. Noelle says:

    Really lovely dress. I like to use MMM to take stock ans see which me madew get the most wear. And like you i find it a good way to plan.

    Like

    1. notsewsimple says:

      Thankyou! I am looking forward to the challenge! Louise

      Like

  2. Carolyn says:

    I love that Moneta is becoming such a TNT pattern for you. It’s great to be able to crank out a new garment and know that not only will it fit you, but you’ll love wearing it! This Liberty floral is gorgeous – like you said, not overwhelmingly floral, almost abstract even. Good luck with MMM this year! I’ll be following along and looking forward to seeing your outfits. πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. notsewsimple says:

      Thankyou – I don’t want to keep posting the same dress over and over but this is an easy pattern to make and wear- no fitting challenges! I am interested to see how I feel about MMM this year as I already wear mainly handmade – not long to wait!

      Louise

      Like

  3. qplourde says:

    Very lovely dress! I don’t think I’m quite ready for MMM this year – I fell a bit behind in my projects this year. But I may try to just wear more of my made stuff…and then maybe next year!

    Like

    1. notsewsimple says:

      Thankyou! I can’t believe it is already May either!
      Louise

      Like

  4. Pretty dress! Looking forward to seeing your MeMades! I’ve signed up too! If I sew up a couple of staples (a black top and a red top), I will be all set! So obviously I better get busy.

    Like

    1. notsewsimple says:

      Thankyou – I’m glad you like it!! You can never have too many staples – I found MMM really inspiring last year and I got loads done!

      Louise

      Like

      1. Last year for me was a sort of trial run. This year I plan on filling the “holes” in my wardrobe. There isn’t much point in sewing a skirt that has no matching top! πŸ˜ƒ and I have a few of those!

        Like

    2. notsewsimple says:

      Thankyou! I found last year I sewed lots of basics during MMM – it really made a huge difference to my handmade wardrobe. Looking forward to seeing what you make!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I really love that Moneta, especially after seeing it in real life! You’ve also got me browsing Liberty jersey, I haven’t succumbed yet but it’s only a matter of time. I’m really looking forward to mmmay this year, I’m hoping to sew up some of the fabric I bought on Saturday so I’ve got a few new things to wear. Going to make a concerted effort to fit in as much sewing time as possible over the next few weeks! x

    Like

    1. notsewsimple says:

      I would like to get a few things made as well – I have several things that I wear regularly at the moment so it will be good to have some choice! If I can fit the sewoverit trousers then they are quick to make – fingers crossed!

      Like

  6. Sophie says:

    Hi, I’ve just found your blog, you’ve made some really lovely things! I’ve been umm-ing and ahh-ing between the Moneta and the Lady Skater and this may have persuaded me to go for the Moneta… Ahhh can’t choose! Absolutely gorgeous fabric too!

    Like

    1. notsewsimple says:

      Thankyou! I have made both Lady Skater and Moneta and I recommend both! The elastic waist is a bit fiddly on Moneta but otherwise both are straightforward! Look forward to seeing what you make!
      Louise

      Like

Leave a Reply

