Handmade Holiday 2 – Ilsley skirt and Hemlock tee

Ilsley skirtAfter being home for a week, my holiday already feels like a really long time ago. We are all back at school and work, the nights are drawing in and it is cold!

But I am going to hold onto the holiday feeling for a little bit longer and share another holiday wardrobe staple. After making my two Southport dresses I wanted an easy to wear, comfortable skirt and top.

The Ilsley skirt by Marilla Walker is a free skirt pattern. It has an elasticated waist and a curved hemline. The hem detail really elevates it beyond a basic pull-on skirt. Normally I would avoid elastic or gathered waists as I feel that they add bulk, but for a holiday, the idea of being able to pull a skirt on and off quickly on the beach and providing room for eating ice cream and crepes seemed absolutely perfect!Ilsley skirtI initially cut a 6 at the waist grading out to 7 over the hips and added a couple of inches to the length. After making up a quick test version I was able to reduce the waist to size 5 and I didn’t need to grade out to the larger size as there is plenty of ease at the hip. I probably didn’t need the extra length either! Because I was sewing to a deadline I skipped the pockets at the front.

The fabric is a pale lilac linen (or linen mix) from Abakhan left over from the Hepworth dress I made last summer. This is a soft linen, so it creases and frays but it was lovely to wear and I think the colour is ideal for summer.Ilsley skirtI decided that instead of trying to hem the curved edges at the bottom of the skirt I wanted to add a contrast bias binding. I love the colours of the floral binding against the plain pastel colour of the skirt. I think it is probably neater than my attempts to make a curved hem would have been! Marilla has posted here about how to finish the hem with binding and to add a drawstring waist closure. I simply folded the binding and top-stitched straight through both sides.Ilsley skirtThe only thing I might change in future (apart from including the pockets!) is that I would use a narrower elastic on the waistband (or try the drawstring method above), I feel as if I didn’t need a thick band to hold the skirt up and I preferred the look of the narrow elastic that I used on my test version. This isn’t a huge issue as I have worn the skirt with a loose t-shirt so the waistband is hidden.Ilsley skirtI used the Grainline Studios free hemlock tee pattern for the white top. I have made several Hemlocks now – first blogged here. This time I left the sleeves off and simply turned under the edge and stitched with a narrow zigzag. I finished the bottom edge with a narrow band.

This was a bargain outfit using free patterns and leftover fabrics but I love the results. Here it is in action in Paris (with added baguettes!)Ilsley skirtSo that was my holiday sewing – it all turned out exactly as I wanted, which is always satisfying! I am already looking forward to wearing it all again next summer.

Next stop autumn sewing…

5 Comments Add yours

  1. It’s nice to have something light and airy for the summer time. Your outfit looks lovely. Good idea with the bias binding. I probably wouldn’t have thought of that!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. notsewsimple says:

      Thankyou! I was worried about getting a neat finish on the curved hem.so the binding seemed like an easier option!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I think the binding would add some needed weight to the curve too!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

