The Made Up Sutton Blouse

Sutton blouseThe Made Up Initiative was organised by Karen of Did You Make That. Karen invited us to support the National Literacy Trust by making a donation and pledging to make something. The initial target was £1000 and at the deadline the total was already over £2500!

The Made Up Initative launched in August, just before I went on holiday, so I wasn’t able to pledge a big project (like Karen’s beautiful vogue dress) but I thought it would be a good way to kick-start my autumn sewing with a quick project.Sutton blouseI chose the True Bias Sutton blouse. I wanted more woven tops to wear with my much worn Ultimate Trousers. I already made the Hey June Biscayne blouse and Tessuti Jac shirt earlier in the summer. Sutton had been on my radar for a while but suddenly I needed it immediately (why does that happen? It isn’t just me surely?).

The Sutton blouse has three pattern pieces plus binding, so it looks like a really basic make but there are lots of lovely details. The side slits and longer back and the binding on the V neck make it more involved and there are french seams for a neat finish. The yoke provides an opportunity for contrast fabric, playing with pattern direction or lace inserts. You can see a range of different interpretations of this pattern in the first round of Super Online Sewing Match. I love the black lace yoke on Dandelion Drift’s Sutton.Sutton blouseThe fabric I used has been sitting around in my stash for almost a year – it is a lovely purpley/blue viscose with white spots which I got from Guthrie and Ghani at Sewbrum last year. It is beautiful fabric and I had been waiting for the right project for it. The Sutton blouse works best with a really drapey fabric so I decided this would be perfect. Because the Sutton is loose fitting I went ahead without making a toile first (high risk!).Sutton blouseI cut an 8 shoulders and bust, grading out to a 12 at the hip and I think this worked out pretty well. In the end I made a smaller hem than the pattern suggests so I may add a little length in future.Sutton blouseThe sewing went really well and I was able to do a small amount each night over a week. The viscose fabric is very slippery and was a challenge to cut, so I used lots of pins at every stage and reduced the tension on my machine slightly to avoid puckered seams. I also had to reduce the tension on my overlocker quite a bit to finish the side seams without chewing them up completely.Sutton blouseWhen I was almost finished I tried it on and had a bit of uncertainty about whether I liked it or not. I wasn’t sure if it was too baggy and shapeless on me. After finishing it completely and trying it with jeans I have decided that I do like it very much. The longer back is just the length I like and I love the weightless feel of the viscose fabric.Sutton blouseSo the Sutton is definitely on my list to make again – though my list is currently very long. I have decided to try and be a bit more focused about what I sew for autumn/winter and make a realistic plan. Is anyone else sewing with a plan?

 

 

18 Comments Add yours

  1. lovelucie1 says:

    I just plan on sewing! Love your Sutton. It’s a favourite of mine too.

    Like

    1. notsewsimple says:

      Thankyou – I am really happy with it – definitely want to make another!

      Like

  2. It’s absolutely lovely – a nice simple shape that really suits you. The viscose drapes beautifully too. And I know exactly what you mean about something being on the horizon and suddenly being something you have to make NOW!

    Like

    1. notsewsimple says:

      Thankyou! – I want everything viscose now – I love how it drapes but feels cotton-like and breathable!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Lovely blouse! The longer back is flattering, and I just love anything with dots. Good job getting the kitty to mirror your pose.

    Like

    1. notsewsimple says:

      Thankyou! I have specially trained the cat and she is available for modelling at a reasonable rate!

      Like

      1. Haha! Maybe I should enlist your training services, my cats just get in the way!

        Liked by 1 person

  4. It is really flattering, and the yoke detail is great. Yes I can see that more of these would be good. I am not really a planner, whenever I have had a order of Sews its all gone wrong!

    Like

    1. notsewsimple says:

      Thankyou! I haven’t really planned before but I keep buying random patterns and fabric and not making the basics. So I am going to focus on the things I know I want to achieve (with a bit of space for random dresses!)

      Like

  5. Thimberlina says:

    Looks fab, the drape of the fabric suits the style of the pattern really well 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. notsewsimple says:

      Thankyou – it’s really lovely fabric so I’m pleased I finally used it for something!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Nicely done! I am just going through my sister’s plans of what I should be sewing for her right now! 😂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Carol says:

    Lovely, it really suits you and I love the fabric. Viscose is just fab!! Your cat is gorgeous – I have a similar one called Crayon. x

    Like

    1. notsewsimple says:

      Thankyou – the fabric is really lovely! Looking forward to shopping at Guthrie & Ghana again at Sew Brum.

      Like

  8. Lynne says:

    Ooo, what a lovely top! The fabric is gorgeous. Have you ever soaked slippery fabric in gelatin to make it easier to work with? I’ve had great success with this, here’s the tutorial I used for it:

    http://iconicpatterns.com/2011/11/21/gelatin-your-chiffon-or-the-tip-that-keeps-people-talking/#comment-2844

    Like

    1. notsewsimple says:

      Thankyou! I havent tried gelatin though I have heard about it. I have some lovely silk fabric which I have been too scared to use so maybe I will try with that!

      Like

  9. I really like it on you too, lovely print 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. notsewsimple says:

      Thankyou – wearing it today and definitely pleased with it!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

