Making a list and checking it twice – autumn sewing plans and #FESA2015

Hi there – Summer is pretty much gone, kids are back at school and our holiday is now a distant memory. But – on the upside, there is more time for sewing! I really enjoy all the planning posts at this time of year. It’s a perfect opportunity to check out new patterns and fabric ideas.

I haven’t had a plan over the summer, which has been fine, but I want to be a bit more focused about autumn and make sure that I cover a few specific things but still leave myself room for new patterns. So I decided to sign up for the Fall Essentials Sew Along over at Rhinestones and Telephones.I started by trying to make a list of all the things that I want to make for autumn and it quickly got out of hand! I have a pinterest board here which combines patterns and RTW inspiration and I already know I won’t manage even half of those things.

So I am going to focus on the important bits and hopefully I will actually achieve some of my aims. ultimatebluefront2 1. Sewoverit Ultimate Trousers – I absolutely love my summer Ultimates and as the summer has been a bit underwhelming here I have worn all the pairs regularly. So top of my list is at least one full length pair for autumn. I have more of the stretch navy blue sateen fabric I used above and a black stretch cotton/linen (both  from Clothspot)

2. Sewaholic Granville Shirt – trousers and a button down shirt is a bit of a no-brainer. I bought the Granville pattern ages ago and I love the fitted shape and I think it will work well with the trousers. I have some lightweight white linen which will be perfect for this.Hollyburn skirt3. Sewaholic Hollyburn Skirt – my blue linen Hollyburn has also had a lot of wear this summer. I love the 70s vibe of the midi length. I splashed out on some black wool from Cloth House in London – so much gorgeous fabric but rather pricey for someone whose main fabric supplier is the remnants at Abakhan!  I think this will be lovely – but will require lining.

4. A wrap dress – I haven’t narrowed this down to a specific pattern – I have  Maria Denmark’s Rachel wrap and two faux wrap dresses  – Simplicity 1653 and New Look 6301. I never quite know what kind of fabric will work best for a wrap dress so I have ordered some cheap viscose jersey for a trial run.

5. A coat – I am going to try this Burdastyle oversized coat 08/2014 (128). I may have shamelessly copied this idea from Clothspot who made this one up in a lovely green herringbone wool. I already have a long wool coat for winter so I want to make a slightly lighter coat which will be perfect before it gets too cold and as we get into spring. This will be my first attempt at a coat and I have never had much luck with Burdastyle patterns so who knows how this will turn out!

I would love to squeeze in another few things but I think this will keep me going until 14th November…

Better get started!

Anyone else sewing with a plan this autumn?

13 Comments Add yours

  1. Anne W says:

    I sort of have a plan, we’ll have to see if I follow it or not! Good luck with the coat!

    Like

    1. notsewsimple says:

      Thankyou – I know! I have tried to keep the list brief but a coat is still quite a commitment – so far I have bought the pattern but have no fabric yet..

      Like

  2. That’s a lot to sew, good luck. That coat looks great, have fun with it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. notsewsimple says:

      Thankyou! I am excited (and nervous) about trying to sew a coat!

      Like

  3. Good for you, planning ahead. I see things I want, make a note of it and eventually get some of it done!

    Like

  4. Becky says:

    Looks like a great list! I love the flexibility of FESA. All the fun of a sewalong, and still ending up with pieces that are the most useful! And good luck with the coat!

    Like

    1. notsewsimple says:

      Thankyou – it’s good to have a bit of structure but not too much pressure!

      Like

Leave a Reply

