Holy Halloween Batman, it’s a Riddler costume..

riddlercostume1Hi there

I am feeling a bit low on energy this week – I had a big deadline to have Halloween costumes ready and as usual after sewing under pressure I have found it hard to summon the energy to start a new project – or blog the completed ones – so better slightly late than never for a Halloween costume post!

My daughter always has plans for Halloween and I secretly enjoy the chance to sew something completely different. Last year was Victorian Steampunk character Veronica Daring and this year she wanted to go in a Riddler costume with her friend as the Joker. I looked at some cosplay images as inspiration – check out my pinterest board here. riddlerjacketfront1For a jacket we went for the Papercut Patterns Bellatrix blazer,  using the cropped version. The fabric is a green poly taffeta from Abakhan. The skirt is a simple circle skirt with an elastic waist.

Bellatrix is a fully lined blazer with a narrow peplum. This means cutting everything twice and a lot of interfacing to support the front and peplum pieces. I went for a medium.riddler jacketside1I made a quick test version and ended up raising the seam under the arms, taking a bit of length out of the bodice at the sleeve level as the bust point was slightly too low, adding a bit back to the top of the sleevehead and moving the shoulder seam forward slightly. I didn’t properly measure the effect of all these changes so I ended up with a bit more sleeve fabric to ease in than in the original pattern. I had  shoulder and sleeve problems with my Granville shirt so I clearly need to understand fitting this area a lot more.riddlerjacketback2My favourite part of making this costume was using bondaweb for the first time to fix the question marks onto the jacket. After getting my head around cutting them out the wrong way round so they would be ironed on the right way round!

At the end of the day it’s a costume so the pressure was off  – she had a great time at the party and I am briefly the best mother in the world. I also made the matching Joker costume below so double brownie points for me!riddlerjokerNow I can finally get back to sewing that coat….

16 Comments Add yours

  1. nanacathy2 says:

    Love the costume!

    Like

    1. notsewsimple says:

      Thankyou! It’s fun to sew something so different every now and again!

      Like

  2. Ha! What a great costume. Bet she had fun wearing it.

    Like

    1. notsewsimple says:

      Thankyou! Yes she had a great time!

      Like

  3. These look really great!

    Like

  4. Very cute! And since you doubled it up, you should indeed, get the best mother in the world award. My kids never had such fun costumes. [So sorry, kids.] 🙂

    Like

    1. notsewsimple says:

      Thankyou! It was worth the deadline pressure in the end!

      Like

  5. Lynne says:

    Wowsers!! These costumes are brilliant!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. ACS Blog says:

    I can totally see why you are the best Mom in the world at that moment! Good job on those costumes! I was lazy this Halloween and just created a “milk maid” costume. I now envy why I let laziness get the better of me.

    Like

    1. notsewsimple says:

      Thankyou – I always think I won’t make an effort this time and always get roped into an elaborate costume!

      Like

  7. Kristine A says:

    This articlegave me a future costume idea for next year! I know it is still very early to think about what to make for next year’s Halloween but I thought the costumes are brilliant! Nice shade of green for the blazer, too!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. notsewsimple says:

      Thankyou! I rely on getting inspiration from things that other people made so I am happy I helped – look forward to seeing what you make next year!

      Like

Leave a Reply

