Top 5 of 2015 – Misses and Reflections

23629879035_9fda75627a_zAfter the Hits in the last post its time for the Misses – which can be the most interesting posts! After the initial excitement which items actually made it out of the wardrobe and which were never worn due to niggly fit issues or bad fabric and pattern choices?

I am pleased that I don’t have a lot of contenders for the Misses category  – only four actual things that I consider Misses and only one that was so awful that it never made it to the blog and no photographic evidence exists – I am all for honesty and learning but really it was too hideous!

So here are the MissesNamed Tyler Shirt1. Named Tyler Shirt – bad fabric choice and fit slightly off around the shoulders. I think I could have lived with the fit issues but the fabric frayed like crazy and after one run through the laundry some of the seams were starting to come apart. Currently in a pile to be donated and I haven’t revisited it.Itch to Stitch Marbella2. Marbella Dress – print choice – I do like the dress and I loved the bright print in theory and the adjustments turned out well but I didn’t ever reach for it. Though I could still wear it next summer (maybe) or revisit in a solid colour?laceskirtfront13. Lace skirt – style issue. I loved the idea of a lace skirt very much and pinned some lovely versions but ultimately this style didn’t really fit with the things I usually wear.

4. Named Inari Teeshirt dress – style issue again – so bad there are no photos! I saw so many lovely versions of this dress in the summer and I was seduced into trying it out. The result wasn’t great – I don’t suit loose styles and I looked as if I had escaped from a hospital (not helped by the fabric I used) – lesson learned is to remember what works for me and not be swayed by what works for other people. On a positive note – I put a tie belt around the waist and my daughter wears it regularly with leggings!

5. Nope – nothing that constitutes a 5th Miss from 2015 – which is a good result! Some things get worn more than others but there is nothing else that I feel belongs in this list.

Reflections

I have bought virtually no RTW clothes this year – this wasn’t a commitment that I made, it has just turned out that way. Most of what I wear everyday is hand-made now so this has been a year of consolidating my wardrobe.

My Hits reflect the things that I am really proud of this year – my coat, the M6696 shirt dress and Ultimate Trousers. I think my skills are slowly improving and I know I can produce clothes that I feel confident about wearing.

I found the structure of sewing with a plan for autumn helped me to stay focussed on what I actually needed. It has been a slow process and I haven’t produced as much as I hoped but I am happy with everything I did make and each piece works with the others.

I haven’t got as much done as I wanted to this year – for a while last year I had a new thing to blog about  every week and I felt under pressure to keep to that pace – eventually I realised that there are no blog police watching my posting schedule and no one will mind if I don’t post every week!  I sew very little during the week and I don’t want my weekends to be entirely taken over by sewing – the times when I have sewed under pressure have ended up being quite stressful and afterwards it has taken me a few weeks to want to get started on a new project.

On the less positive side – being able to quickly produce new clothes that fit means that I have allowed myself to put on weight over the last 18 months. I can sew a looser fitting dress or top and try to ignore the increasing number of things that I can no longer wear. One of my big priorities in 2016 is to start to address this – eating better and exercising more!

Next year I would like to continue to challenge myself – I still have fit issues to work out, I want to make a pair of jeans and some exercise clothes. I want to keep working on wearable basics but leave myself time to fit in a lovely new pattern when the moment is right!

Finally – it means such a lot to me that so many people have taken time to read my blog and leave comments this year. I am really grateful to be a part of the sewing community!

Happy New Year everyone – I hope 2016 brings everyone only good things!

16 Comments Add yours

  1. amcclure2014 says:

    I like the Marbella dress and think it looks great on you. I know what you mean about just not reaching for things though. Hopefully you’ll feel like wearing it next summer.
    Unfortunately I’ve put on weight, too, and with a wedding in June and a mother of the bride outfit to make for it that’s not good! This is a resolution I have to keep!
    Happy New Year!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. notsewsimple says:

      Thankyou – I will see how i feel about it next year! Definitely diet first in January though!

      Like

  2. nanacathy2 says:

    Personally to love that dress and you look terrific in it. Maybe the weather was just not right for it this year. Good luck with all your plans for 2016. Happy New year!

    Like

    1. notsewsimple says:

      Thankyou – I hesitated about including it! I like it in theory but I just don’t wear prints that bright so even on the sunniest days (though there weent many!) I never chose to wear it.

      Like

  3. Hélène says:

    This Inari dress was everywhere this year and I almost give in, but something kept telling me that I would look like a potato bag in it. So I did not try it (yet). Thanks for your honest review. I’m with you about exercising more and eating better in 2016: this is my first goal, at least for January! Keep on the good work, my dear, and cheers to 2016!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hélène says:

      Sorry for the typo, I meant: “I almost gave in”.

      Like

    2. notsewsimple says:

      I know – I never wear loose dresses like that with no waist definition, I used a rubbishy jersey fabric as well which didn’t help but it really looked awful on me!

      Like

  4. I really love your Marbella dress, it looks fabulous on you! I’ve tried really hard to consider whether a pattern will suit my body type. I really like the Merchant and Mills patterns but know I’d look dreadful in one! Wishing you a fabulous new year! X

    Liked by 1 person

    1. notsewsimple says:

      Yes I think the Merchant &Mills patterns would look awful on me – but I want to be that person who looks amazing in a sack! Happy new year to you too – hope to see you again in 2016!

      Like

  5. Becky says:

    It is a pretty dress, and it’s a shame that you didn’t feel that it suited you! It looks like it was an overall positive year for you, though. Happy New Year!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. notsewsimple says:

      I liked the style of the dress but the print was a bit overwhelming for me! I may try again in a solid or different print!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Chris says:

    I love that Marbella Dress on you!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. notsewsimple says:

      Thankyou – I will give it another go next summer – lots of love for it!

      Like

  7. Ditto her novel no the Marbella dress, looks lovely! Maybe it was a weather and venue issue rather than the dress itself? Well done for only having four, very impressive indeed 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. notsewsimple says:

      Thankyou – it’s mainly a reservation about how bright the print is!

      Liked by 1 person

  8. I love the Marbella Dress … but I understand you have to wear it! I have had prints I love and then I make something and although everyone says it looks great I still feel “not me.” Give it another go though- you never know!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

