‘Jamas in January

pjsfront2Hi All and a very Happy New Year!

More energetic people have been making Jeans in January, and I did think about joining in, but after a busy Christmas and New Year, I found that I had no energy to start anything new. I think I will leave jeans until I start to see some progress on the inevitable New Year diet…pjsside1I wanted to make something really easy that didn’t require any fitting and I had picked up some flannelette fabric at Abakhan. This fabric was very wide so I think it is intended to make sheets, but it is incredibly cosy and soft so I knew immediately that I wanted to make some new pyjamas and with just  a metre and a half I managed to cut out two pairs.

I made a pair of pyjamas last winter using New Look 6321 so I had the pieces all ready to go – which was just what I needed for an easy January project. My first pair were quite baggy so I unscientifically took about half an inch off the outer and inside leg seams this time. I might reinstate a bit of the inside leg next time as I would like a little more room at the back!pjsdetailThe waist tie is made of ribbon attached to elastic, I love the ribbon finish but the elastic immediately started to get twisted so I have found a tutorial for attaching the elastic directly to the fabric for next time I make this pattern.

This couldn’t have been an easier project to start the year – though I still managed to get stalled for a week until I got round to finding some elastic and ribbon for the waistband!pjsback2But I finally finished them last night, got some pictures this morning and I am wearing them right now and they are indeed extremely cosy.pjsfront1I may be ready to try something new now! Has anyone else found it hard to get started this month – or have you all been busy sewing jeans?

24 Comments Add yours

  1. JaneyB says:

    I’ve found it really hard to get started this month! I’m hoping that the arrival of February will change all that! I love pyjamas and yours look very cosy.

    Like

    1. notsewsimple says:

      Thankyou – cosy pyjamas were definitely what I needed to get going again. I have now started a dress so hoping to have something new to post soon x

      Liked by 1 person

      1. JaneyB says:

        I think I’m going to have to make something quick and simple that I’ve done before to launch me back into making clothing! At least I’ve made a nice Anya bag to use every day so I don’t feel so bad about January! x

        Like

  2. Difficulties getting started? Yes, unfortunately. But those cute pajamas seem like a great way to begin, you’ll be back in the swing very soon!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. notsewsimple says:

      Thankyou! A cold and wet January has definitely made me feel lazy, so it’s nice to have cosy pj’s for doing nothing in!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Naomi says:

    Totally on my list for 2016. Thanks for the inspiration!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Alison says:

    I have done no sewing for myself this month, I was horrified by what the scales said on the 1st of Jan so until that is dealt with I am sewing for my husband 🙂 Love your pj bottoms, they look lovely and comfy, perfect for the horrific weather!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. notsewsimple says:

      I have been trying to deal with the scales this month as well – think I will be sewing knits until I have lost a bit more!

      Like

  5. jay says:

    I’ve been putting jeans off for several months. Nice pjs!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. notsewsimple says:

      Thankyou – I want to try Jeans at some point but I will need to build up to it slowly!

      Like

  6. A great start they look lovely. With elastic waists I stitch through the seam lines at the side and centre backs, that way the stitching cannot be seen but to secures the elastic so that it cannot twist.

    Like

    1. notsewsimple says:

      Thankyou – I stitched the centre back but will need to do the sides as well!

      Like

  7. Jammies look cozy! I have had a difficult two months with illness in the family so everything has fallen behind. Lovely to see what everyone else is doing though!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. notsewsimple says:

      I’m so sorry that you have been having a difficult time – I hope everyone is well again now? Flannelette pj’s are incredibly cosy!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes we are finally sorting things out. Thank you! It’s so nice to read about sewing if you don’t have time to sew! I am going to have to add Jammies to my sewing todo list!

        Like

  8. Thimberlina says:

    They look lovely, and just what’s needed with this foul weather we’re having. I’ve just made jeggings, too slow a start for my liking, but after the meet up I’m hoping to be less distracted and get stuck into some new projects. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. notsewsimple says:

      Thankyou – I keep thinking I will start something new but I don’t seem to quite have the energy!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thimberlina says:

        I think the weathers to blame – we need some sunshine!

        Liked by 1 person

  9. Lovely cosy pjs, definitely the month to make them! Yours look great!

    Like

    1. notsewsimple says:

      Thankyou – they are getting a lot of wear!

      Liked by 1 person

  10. Janet says:

    I only got as far as buying the Ginger jeans pattern – I haven’t even opened the .pdf yet! So yes, pyjamas definitely feel more approachable at this point in time. Yours look great, and very comfy!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. notsewsimple says:

      Thankyou – much less stressful than jeans for a new year project!

      Like

Leave a Reply

