The twirly skater – a Lady Skater variation

Lady SkaterHi there everyone

Another post only a week after my last! Clearly some sew-jo is returning at last. We are still getting used to the return of the sun to the North, so the pictures are a bit of a mixed bag this week!

Last weekend I cut out four different projects – using fabric from my stash and TNT patterns I have made before. This dress is the first thing I made and I am really pleased with it!Lady SkaterI have pinned several dresses like this – fitted bodice and flared, almost circle skirts, but I hadn’t found a pattern to make one. While I was considering what to cut out last week I had the sudden brain wave that this is basically just a Kitschy-coo Lady Skater with a longer, fuller skirt!

I have made a Lady Skater before here and my skater-princess hack here, so I had already got the bodice cut out in a size 4, with about 2cm reduction in length. For this version I slashed the skirt piece down the middle and spread it about six inches – this was a very unscientific adjustment and I have ended up with somewhere between a half and three-quarter circle skirt I think?skaterfront4I didn’t actually lengthen the skirt pattern piece – I just marked an extra 3 inches length straight onto the fabric, as the bias dropped I had to trim a bit off at the sides so I would add a little more length next time.skaterback3The sleeves are meant to be three-quarter length but I skipped the cuffs so they finish at about my elbow and I would probably lengthen them a bit next time.This was kind of a test run so the fabric is probably a little lighter than you would ideally want – a little too clingy! It is worth remembering that the fuller skirt does add more weight though – so this might not work in a ponte. I stabilised the waist with clear elastic as recommended in the Lady Skater instructions, which really helps. This fabric is a poly blend jersey which seems to have a bit of spandex, so it is quite stretchy – I’m not sure how it will hold up to regular wear yet.skaterfront2I really like how this turned out! The skirt is satisfyingly swishy and pretty close to the inspiration dress. I definitely want to make more of these – longer and twirlier if possible!

Hope you are all having a good sewing week? Is everyone else enjoying the brighter mornings and starting to think about sewing for spring?

7 Comments Add yours

  1. It looks great! You’ve gotten a perfect fit with it too.

    Like

    1. notsewsimple says:

      Thankyou – stretchy knits make that much easier!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Really like this, I love swishing whilst walking. Looks great.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. notsewsimple says:

      Thankyou – I have had this type of dress in mind for a while so I am really pleased!

      Like

  3. Lynne says:

    What a great dress, and the fit looks spot on.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

