All change – and a Deer and Doe Bleuet…

Deer and Doe BleuetHello

It has been a long time since my last post – again!  I have done some sewing since then but not as much as I had hoped and I have failed to get round to taking pictures until now – even though the longer days have given me no excuse.

Life has basically been getting in the way – I am starting a new job in London  very soon – bonus sewing points for finding a job only one tube stop away from Goldhawk Road though! Weekends have been taken up by sorting out our house and time for sewing has been limited. For the next few months I will be away from home during the week so I will inevitably sew less. It’s going to be a year of big changes which is exciting but also a bit scary!Deer and Doe BleuetI have managed to make a dress though – the pattern is Deer and Doe Bleuet. I bought the pattern at the Sewbrum meet up, very much influenced by Tasia’s pink linen version posted on the Sewaholic blog last summer.

I cut a 40 at the shoulder, grading out to 42 at the waist and 44 at the hip. I made a quick toile and found that I only needed a few adjustments which was a total win – the thought of endless fitting issues has been putting me off complex projects in recent months.Deer and Doe BleuetI adjusted the princess seams very slightly for a better fit around the bust – adding  slightly more width above the bust and slightly less below. I narrowed the shoulder to remove an excess ‘fold’ of fabric between the shoulder and bust. I also lengthened the pattern about two and a half inches as it is intended to be quite short and I wanted a bit more coverage.

I omitted the bow at the back waist because I am not 8 and I omitted the puffy sleeves because I often struggle with sleeve fitting and I don’t love puffy sleeves – I feel as if the dress is much sleeker without those details?Deer and Doe BleuetThe fabric is a medium weight linen cotton type mix from Abakhan remnants – they have such a mixture of different types of linen mix – some are very stiff and rough, but this was fairly heavy but soft and with a nice drape. I was quite heavily influenced by the black linen dresses that Heather at Closet Case Files posted last summer here and here and although I have worn this with tights recently I am looking forward to wearing it with sandals – as I am here – when my legs are less pasty white!Deer and Doe BleuetThe drafting is spot on and the collar came together beautifully – I used the Four Square Walls tutorial as usual. I did fail to get a buttonhole on the collar stand – I gave up after unpicking two failures and luckily I am perfectly happy not to wear it completely buttoned up.

I am very pleased with the final dress and I have already cut out another (and mostly sewed it up!) which is always a positive sign. I think this might be my new ideal summer shirt dress!

Anyone else trying something new this spring?

22 Comments Add yours

  1. JaneyB says:

    Lovely dress and I actually think it looks neater without a button on the collar stand. Good luck with the new job!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. notsewsimple says:

      Thankyou! I hope no one will notice the difference – it would feel quite tight if it was fully buttoned up.

      Like

  2. Congratulations on the job, you’ll have to get a travelling sewing machine, especially being so close to Goldhawk Road. I really love what you have done with the Bleuet, the puffy sleeves have always put me off, mainly because I have the arms of a rugby player, I would never have thought to leave them off. Hope everything goes well for you! xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. notsewsimple says:

      Thankyou – I am excited to be working in London again, but hope I will still see you at sew brum!

      Like

  3. Congratulations on the new dress and job! 🙂 Really like the sleeveless version on you.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. notsewsimple says:

      Thankyou – it is definitely my new favourite dress!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Looking gorgeously sleek! I really like the style and your collar looks super neat. Good luck with the new job and good luck with the temptations of Goldhawk rd! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. notsewsimple says:

      Thankyou – it’s a really lovely style – I may make several this summer!

      Like

  5. Colesworth says:

    a lovely dress that you could style different ways. I don’t have any little black dresses and have been thinking of sewing up a sleeveless sew over it vintage shirt dress in linen or eyelet. That is a lot of buttons! I know my machine also would have balked at that top buttonhole too ;o)

    Like

  6. Looks lovely! You should make more, they look great on you!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. notsewsimple says:

      I am already on number two – I may only make Bleuet and Melilot all summer long!

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Janet says:

    Looks terrific. What fabric are you using for version two..?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. notsewsimple says:

      Thankyou – I am using really light chambray for number two – can’t wait to finish it!

      Like

  8. Lynne says:

    Ooo! This is brilliant, and has reminded me that I have this pattern but had completely forgotten about it! I’ve struggled with buttonholes on collar bands, and am definitely with you on the bow too.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. notsewsimple says:

      Thankyou – I discounted it for ages but loved Tasia’s version last summer!

      Like

  9. This is really lovely, the strong colour suits you and the shape of the dress is really flattering. I can see why you’ve cut out another! Congratulations on your new job, exciting times ahead.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. notsewsimple says:

      Thankyou – I am so pleased with it – I need new clothes for my new job!

      Like

  10. coolarama says:

    Hi! Good luck with the new job. The dress looks Fab The sleeveless version was a good call although I’m a sucker for puffy sleeves. Your collars and buttons always look immaculate.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. notsewsimple says:

      Thankyou – this is a lovely pattern

      Like

Leave a Reply

