My new favourite blouse – Melilot forever..

MelilotHi All

So we are almost half way through Me Made May and it is also time to start on summer sewing. I have very restricted time for sewing now as I am away from home during the week for the next few months, but I have found my new favourite pattern for the summer (and I am already making versions two and three..)

You know how it feels when you see a pattern which is exactly what you want to make and wear and you can imagine making half a dozen of the same thing? I think Deer and Doe’s Melilot is that pattern!melilotdotfront2I ordered my copy almost as soon as the pattern was released. I have been hanging onto some lightweight poly crepe-type fabric for a while (last used here for my Biscayne Blouse) and this was exactly the type of lightweight drapey fabric I wanted.MelilotI kept it simple and went for Version B, with the cuffed short sleeve and mandarin collar.  I skipped the pockets cut a 42 across the shoulders and bust, grading out to 44 at the waist and 46 at the hip.

I sewed it up and I didn’t make any fitting adjustments. Amazing!MelilotI did fight with the very slippery fabric quite a lot – the layers had a tendency to move separately under the feed dogs of my machine so some of the seams ended up a bit wavey. The cuffs on the sleeves were a particular challenge and I unpicked sections on both sides to try to get a better result.MelilotIn the end though I am really pleased with how this turned out. It will get plenty of wear with my very well-worn Ultimate Trousers, was worn with my Hollyburn skirt last week and is pictured here with jeans. It’s versatile, it’s shaped without being restrictive, it’s easy to put together (apart from the very many button holes which are currently delaying completion of version two..)

What is your new favourite pattern this year?

 

9 Comments Add yours

  1. Lynne says:

    Great minds clearly think alike, because this is my favourite new pattern too! Your shirt is lovely, and good luck with your planned versions.

    Like

    1. notsewsimple says:

      Thank you – it’s exactly the length and shape I feel like wearing just now – I am making some cotton lawn versions, so it will be interesting to see how it works in a less drapey fabric.

      Like

  2. Hélène says:

    Great make! Deer & Doe offers such well-drafted patterns, I’m not surprised you needed no adjustments. And just like you, I loved this pattern at first sight, but I resisted – my pattern collection is so vast already! I haven’t found my summer pattern yet. Last year, it was Pauline Alice’s Xerea dress and I heard she will release a new pattern soon, so I’ll wait to see what it is.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. notsewsimple says:

      Thanks Hélène – I really like deer and Doe patterns – my other favourite this year has been Bleuet. I have the Rosari skirt from Pauline Alice in my queue as well – looking forward to a new pattern from her!

      Like

  3. It looks great on you…. No wonder it’s a favourite. I like the Sewaholic Hollyburn too!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. notsewsimple says:

      Thankyou! It’s a lovely shape I think – and I can try long sleeves for autumn too!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Your Melilot looks great in a drapey fabric, I really love how you have spaced the buttons, might just have to steal that idea!
    I’ve got another couple in the pipeline but am struggling for time too at the moment. Hope you’re settling into the new job! X

    Liked by 1 person

    1. notsewsimple says:

      Thankyou – there are actually two buttonholes at the bottom that I haven’t got round to sewing buttons on – my second version is complete but also needs buttons added… The new job is good but it is odd to be away from home all week – and so little time to sew!

      Like

Leave a Reply

