Easy Sunday Sewing – Simple Sew/Love Sewing Cross Back top

crossback1

Hi All

We are almost done with Me-Made May and once again it seems to have kicked off my desire to make some lovely new things!

I had one of those moments a few weeks ago, I didn’t want to finish the dress I was working on, I didn’t want to get into a complicated project that would take ages to fit – I just wanted to sew something quick and easy and get it finished in one day. Often what happens in these moments is that I spend ages trying to decide what the project will be, only to realise that I don’t have the right fabric or the right pattern, or I can’t decide anything and get cross with myself for wasting time.

This time I pulled out some patterns from my stash and some fabric that I wasn’t quite sure if I would ever use and decided to try the Simple Sew Cross back top which came free with Issue 17 of Love Sewing.crossfront2

I have had this pattern in the back of my mind for a while because I do like a top with a back feature – see here, here and here. I found a few examples of this pattern made up – Navybluethreads made it in crepe but found it boxy, Makingandmarking mentioned that the facings flap around and another blogger (who I now can’t find to link back to – sorry) mentioned that she found the kimono sleeves were too tight.

As I wanted this to be a quick project – I cut out the pattern from its paper without tracing (I know – living on the edge right..).. I did however make a quick toile – I’m not completely crazy! crossside4Based on my measurements I cut a size 12 around the shoulder and bust and graded the side seams out to a size 14.

I did find the sleeves very tight – to the point that I almost couldn’t get my arms through – basically I have fat arms relative to my bust size – and the neckline was very high at the front. crossback2I solved the arm problem by cutting the sleeve back quite a long way – about 3 or 4 inches along the shoulder seam and about an inch below. For the high neckline I just curved the front neckline down so it was about 2 inches lower in the front.crossside2Most people who have made the top found the facings were a problem. The facings along the back ‘flaps’ end up less than an inch wide and have nothing to hold them in place. I simply overlocked the raw edges (no instructions were given for finishing) and topstitched them down all around. This does leave a visible line of stitching but I think it works OK with this fabric – with something drapey you might handstitch if you didn’t want to see the stitches.cross seam detailFor the neckline and sleeves I made some binding out of the fabric and used this to finish the edges, which I prefer to a facing.

So there was a certain amount of faffing with fit, but by the end of an afternoon I had a finished top which I have worn and I am pretty pleased with! Absolute sewing win!

Has anyone else got any quick win patterns to recommend – apart from New Look 6217 which seems to be the pattern of the moment…!

 

 

 

20 Comments Add yours

  1. coolarama says:

    Fab top. I had a go at this last weekend and had no end of trouble with it. Yours has come out brilliantly (mines in the bin) I’m glad to find out it’s not just me who found the facings troublesome and the sleeves too tight. I should follow your lead and make more muslins. Fiona. PS great fabric choice.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. notsewsimple says:

      Thankyou – are you feeling better after your op? I nearly binned this after first try on with super tight sleeves but i realised I could cut them back so decide to persevere!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. coolarama says:

        Hi! all went well and I’m up and about, just 6 weeks of taking it very easy now and NO lifting sewing machines, Boo! At least online fabric shopping and pattern buying aren’t out of bounds!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Great top. Well done for rescuing what sounds like a poorly started pattern. The back looks really good. I know what you mean about wanting a quick sewing win. I often see something for the children when I feel like that; minimal fabric and usually rather quick!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. notsewsimple says:

      Thankyou! – I am rarely unselfish enough to sew for my children – and typically my daughter wants something complicated – next thing is a prom dress…

      Like

  3. I suffer the same issues, can’t decide what to make and end up tidying the sewing room instead! The top looks lovely, and no you don’t have fat arms! are you kidding? Seems to me the patten is graded wrong at the arm edge, but you have worked round it very effectively.

    Love the fabric and the detail at the back!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. notsewsimple says:

      Thankyou! – Tidying is always good but I really hate that feeling that I wasted my very limited sewing time!

      Like

  4. Janet says:

    Really fun fabric, this. Great to see you’ve made the fit work for you.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. notsewsimple says:

      Thankyou – it’s a really lovely print!

      Like

  5. Thanks so much for posting this. I have the pattern sat next to me on the table waiting to be cut out. I wouldn’t bother since it sounds a bit of a dud but your top looks great. Lovely fabric. Xx

    Like

  6. caroljfaulkner says:

    Lovely fabric and it looks great in that pattern. Despite several issues you have made a lovely top for the summer – well done it’s fab!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. notsewsimple says:

      Thankyou – it feels good that I was able to make it work!

      Like

  7. qplourde says:

    Great top, I love the back. Also the fabric is really neat as well!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. notsewsimple says:

      Thankyou! I’m glad I found a use for it!

      Like

  8. Looks great! I will have to try it out. I have been using a Butterick T shirt pattern for a while now because it is so simple and comfortable.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. notsewsimple says:

      Thankyou! I am looking for some more easy to make summer tops!

      Liked by 1 person

  9. I love this top, the bird fabric is so pretty, the finishing and fit are great! (Thinking about giving it a try, but…do you think it would be possible to lengthen the sleeves? and would I go about that?)

    Like

    1. notsewsimple says:

      Thankyou – the sleeves were originally longer but I had to cut them down as they were too tight for me – maybe think about adding width to the sleeves if you think this might be an issue!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thanks, I’ll definitely need to add in some extra.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

