Moving on dresses – lady skaters in blue

Lady Skater notsewsimpleIt’s September, seasons changing and big changes in my life! I am in a new house in a new (old) city, with a still quite new job. So I have spruced up the blog a bit to go with all the new beginnings and I finally have a some new dresses to blog about!

I have been sewing over the summer, but because time has been very limited I have kept it simple and stuck to TNT projects. Earlier in the year I made a Kitschycoo Lady Skater dress with the skirt slashed and spread to make it closer to a circle skirt – read more about it here. I would hesitate to call it a hack, since it was a very simple adjustment but I was ridiculously pleased with the result and have worn it a lot, despite having used a rather lightweight poly jersey fabric.Lady Skater notsewsimpleNot long before we moved I saw this lovely viscose print jersey fabric at Clothspot (sadly now all gone!) and in a moment of over excitement I ordered two metres without any idea what I would do with it. I am very easily tempted by blue prints – see here and here.  I also picked up another mystery blue print jersey from Abakhan and as I was crossing the road one day in the first dress with the skirt being rather twirly, I remembered that I wanted to make more dresses exactly like this one.Lady Skater notsewsimpleI cut both dresses out before we moved and sewed them up together – as before I cut the size 4 bodice and slashed and lengthened the skirt. Both dresses were almost complete with only hems to do, when the huge upheaval of moving house took over and they spent some time in a box before I was ready to get back to sewing. In both cases the fabric had dropped quite a bit where the hem was cut on the bias, which was a surprise to me as I didn’t realise that happened with knit fabrics?Lady Skater notsewsimpleSo these dresses have been the final project at my old house and the first in my new house, we are having a final burst of summer here in Brighton so I have had a chance to wear them and I am nearly ready to start thinking about some new projects!Lady Skater notsewsimpleIs anyone else squeezing in one more summer dress or are you all getting ready for autumn now?

12 Comments Add yours

  1. Naomi says:

    I think with knit fabrics that have a good drape and weight there will be some drop – so it’s quite serendipitous that you had to wait to hem! Lovely make. I can see that you will be able to take this into autumn too.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. notsewsimple says:

      Thankyou – yes I think these will work in autumn too – may need a slip – I love this silhouette

      Louise

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Lovely fabrics, lovely dresses! I always plan for dresses in the summer and pants/trousers in the fall, but then my plans get messed up and things are being made in the wrong season. Oh well!

    Like

    1. notsewsimple says:

      Thankyou! I am the same – I never get through all my plans and now it is almost autumn and I don’t have anything to wear!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. JaneyB says:

    Enjoy Brighton! We’re just along the coast in Chichester but my sister has lived in Brighton for over 30 years so we are regular visitors. I’ve hardly done any summer sewing due to time constraints but am just getting fired up to make some new clothes for autumn/winter after losing some weight. I love the fabrics you’ve used for these dresses and they would definitely work with a jacket or cardi as temperatures drop.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. notsewsimple says:

      Thankyou – I lived here a while ago and I am really happy that we have finally been able to move back! There is lots here for sewing people which is a bonus!

      Louise

      Liked by 1 person

      1. JaneyB says:

        There’s certainly a lot of temptation in Brighton – especially Ditto! We’re quite lucky in Chichester too with The Eternal Maker and Clothkits.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. notsewsimple says:

        I know – I just stocked up in Ditto on Saturday!

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Janet says:

    I love a blue print too. Congratulations on the move – and the new dresses.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. notsewsimple says:

      You can’t beat a blue print! Thanks Janet

      Like

  5. Lynsey says:

    Super dresses, they both look great on and the fabrics are lovely, I wear lots of blue and always drawn to it in shops or even online.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. notsewsimple says:

      Thankyou – oddly I wear less blue in winter but I am hopeful that these will get lots of wear with tights and cardigans!

      Like

Leave a Reply

