Jacket required – Papercut Waver

waverfront1Hello there – we are still having sunny days here, even if they are increasingly accompanied by chilly nights so we have gone out of the garden for photos today. These pictures were taken at Lewes Castle.

This is my first complete autumn sewing project. As soon as it started to feel cooler on my way to and from work I decided I absolutely needed a light jacket – the kind that you can throw on over various layers and that would be perfect for walking a dog (if I had one..). If you follow me on Instagram then you will have seen the making of this coat over the past few weeks.Papercut Waver jacketThe pattern I used is the Papercut Waver Jacket pattern. When this pattern was first released I didn’t find the pictures on their website very appealing, but there are a lot of lovely versions of this coat around – check out Lauren’s version here with amazing fur hood and Fiona’s version with teddy bear lining here.

I wanted my jacket to be a little bit formal so I can wear it to work as well as for walking my imaginary dog. Ages ago I pinned this jacket from PolyvoreCoach Classic Twill Getaway Trenchand I had this kind of fabric in mind when I went shopping. I found this cotton and polyester mix fabric in the sale at Ditto in Brighton recently – I can’t see anything similar online to link. It is a really dark charcoal grey, not at all drapey but has a bit of stretch and it has a very slightly fuzzy finish (with a slight nap that I completely failed to notice when I cut it out..) Papercut Waver jacketFor the lining of the body I used some left over blue/black jacquard viscose lining – used for my first coat project. This was from Clothspot and is long gone – but this one is similar. I didn’t have enough left to make all the lining so I used some black crepe backed satin from Abakhan remnants bins for the hood and sleeve lining. This coat definitely has all the lovely, slinky linings!Papercut Waver jacketBased on my measurements – and allowing a bit extra for layers – I cut a medium shoulders and waist, grading out to large at the hip. Others have reported that the pattern does run quite large and I would say that is true.

I initially cut the longer version but ended up shortening it to somewhere between the two lengths. The main adjustment I made was to shorten the sleeves as they seemed really long on my test version – I wish I hadn’t done this now – I think they are fractionally too short after hemming.

I think I probably could have reduced the height of the hood though – I feel slightly Scottish Widows when it is up!Papercut Waver jacket

And I used snaps for the very first time! It was completely nerve-wracking hammering little holes into my almost finished coat,  and two fell off the first time I opened and closed them but it was so much faster than sewing buttons on and I love how they look. I used a Prym anorak kit and it seems to have worked pretty well.Papercut Waver jacket

It feels really good to have got my first big autumn project out of the way and I’m pretty sure that I will wear this a lot until it is time to get the winter coat out. Now I just need to get my to sew list under control and work out what to tick off next. How is everyone else’s autumn sewing plan coming along?

12 Comments Add yours

  1. Hila says:

    I love your jacket. Its beautifully made and quite awesome that you kicked off autumn sewing with a big project like this. I have been doing a fair bit of autumn sewing but its the quick and easy kind – sewing with knit fabric on the overlocker.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. notsewsimple says:

      Thankyou – I think I wanted to get it out of the way before it was cold enough for my heavier coat! It’s quite a straightforward project – just took a while as I had limited time! Definitely an easier project next!

      Louise

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Hélène says:

    What a perfect autumn jacket! Lovely pics too.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. notsewsimple says:

      Thank you- a new coat seemed a good excuse for getting some photos somewhere new!

      Louise

      Like

  3. Janet says:

    How fantastic is that lining! And I bet your imaginary dog loves the extra walks it gets with this coat 🙂 Were you tempted by the Closet Case Files Kelly or the Sewaholic Minoru patterns too, or was this one the clear favourite from the start?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. notsewsimple says:

      Thankyou! The Kelly was released after I had started making this one – but I did want a lined version. I hadn’t thought about minoru – in my head that is more complicated? This was pretty straightforward to sew – I have worn it everyday since finishing it!

      Louise

      Like

      1. Janet says:

        It looks so practical as well as pretty – enjoy!

        Like

  4. Nicely done! I’m impressed that you managed to time the completion of your coat with the proper season. I usually start a coat in the fall and finish it before summer of the next year!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. notsewsimple says:

      Thankyou – as soon as it got a bit cooler I really really wanted exactly this kind of coat so I got it out of the way first. Generally I wait until the season changes before I start to plan and never get everything completed!

      Louise

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Lynne says:

    Ooo! What a brilliant coat, you did a great job and I think the hood looks perfect. Also, I love all the colours in your coat, scarf and top.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. notsewsimple says:

      Thankyou – I am really pleased with it and it wasn’t a huge undertaking! The top is one of my few remaining RTW tops and I keep meaning to try to replicate it!

      Louise

      Like

Leave a Reply

