Top 5 of 2016 – hits and misses…

tmp_1461-12680032515Happy Christmas everyone! I have been enjoying a lovely break with family and food and I’m looking forward to a few days of sewing before I go back to work!

Once again I am linking up to the  annual Top 5 series at Crafting a Rainbow. This has been a fairly quiet sewing year for me and I don’t feel as if I have quite enough projects for a top 5 of both hits and misses so I am going to combine the two here and then follow up with some reflections and plans next time. Click on the pictures to see the original posts.

So – without further ado – here are the hits!promfloraside31. The BHL Flora prom dress – the sewing is far from perfect and the fabric gave me nightmares but my  daughter looked lovely and was happy wearing it and that is the most important thing of all. It made me happy that more than one picture of this ended up in my 2016 best nine on instagram!Deer and Doe Melilot2. Deer and Doe Melilot blouses – as soon as I saw this pattern I knew I wanted multiple versions and I made 5 and wore them all over the summer and into autumn. I have a long sleeve version cut out and plans for more. The pattern was just perfect for me – longer length to wear untucked, some shaping but not tight, casual but looks pulled together with a skirt or trousers. Just love this –  my favourite version is the ‘liberty’ print version in the centre above.Papercut Waver jacket3. Papercut Waver jacket – making a coat is always an event and this one was really straightforward to sew and easy to fit.  I love being able to put up the hood when it rains and being able to throw this on over a sweater.Lady Skater notsewsimple4. Honourable mentions for the twirly lady skaters and my most recent make – the purple roses belladone.

And the misses? Rather boringly I don’t have many misses to report and not many photos. I know this is because I have had less time for sewing this year and as a result I focused on more straightforward projects that I knew would work, but I think part of the joy of sewing is being able to try different styles and to be able to experiment, which can lead to unexpected successes as well as failures. I am tempted to try some new silhouettes at the moment so maybe there will be some more risk taking in the future!

  1. Colette Wren – when the pattern was launched I liked the cream version, but I was concerned about the way the surplice collar pulled up the waist and I saw this effect on some completed versions. I made this up and initially I liked it but when I wore it I found that the length I had added to make it sit at my natural waist and not pull up meant that the neckline didn’t feel entirely secure. As I never blogged this and only wore it once there are no photos (sorry!).greybleuetfront1
  2. Amongst my unblogged projects I have a Deer and Doe Bleuet – the fabric is a lovely Robert Kaufman chambray but it was slightly too light and soft for this pattern which worked much better in a linen mix with more body – I still wore it though so it isn’t really a miss!Sewoverit Heather
  3.  My recent Sewoverit Heather also isn’t really a miss as I do like the pattern and everything else about this version but the sleeves are uncomfortably tight – I am contemplating cutting them off and making new ones but haven’t quite summoned up the energy yet.

So there are my hits and misses for 2016 – I love the hits and I don’t feel bad about the misses so that feels like a good way to end the year!

Are you taking part in this year end review? How do you feel about your hits and misses?

5 Comments Add yours

  1. nanacathy2 says:

    I really loved your coat. Enjoy your sewing time this week.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. notsewsimple says:

      Thankyou – it’s lovely to have a couple of extra clear days!

      Like

  2. Janet says:

    The Melilots are brilliant – very envious, and I can’t wait to see the next one 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. notsewsimple says:

      Thankyou! I really love this pattern – looking forward to making more!

      Like

Leave a Reply

