looking back and forwards – 2017 makenine

Hi there and a very happy new year to you all!

After looking back at what worked and didn’t work so well in 2016 its time to look forward to what is coming next!brightonNow that we are settled in Brighton and the huge upheaval of new job and moving are out of the way I have been enjoying having a bit more time for sewing again and I would like to challenge myself a little more and take some risks! I don’t want to stop sewing the basics that work for me, but I would also like to try a few different things this year.

So here is my 2017makenine – nine patterns that I am hoping to sew in the coming year. picmonkey-collage

Tops – Named Talvikki, Megan Neilsen Dove (with slightly flared sleeve), Grainline Hemlock with a split hem, Grainline Driftless cardigan.

Skirts& trousers – Pauline Alice Port trousers, Closet Case Files Ginger jeans, Pauline Alice Rosari skirt.

Dresses – Grainline Farrow, Burdastyle long sleeve dress.

I already have several of these patterns and some of the fabric I want to use. I like that some are old favourites – such as Grainline Hemlock – which I have made a million times already, but with the new variation of the split hem. Some are (hopefully) quite straightforward – such as the Rosari skirt, but will hopefully be a new TNT pattern. Some are going to push me on fitting – the Port trousers and Ginger jeans will be a challenge I think, but my very well-loved Sewoverit Ultimate trousers are wearing out and I need an update! Finally there are some I don’t quite know if they will work or not – the Farrow dress is a different silhouette for me and could end up looking maternity or sack, but I want to give it a go!

I like that together they could almost form a capsule wardrobe – I might need to buy some more fabric of course…

Can’t wait to get started – what do you have planned for the coming year?

10 Comments Add yours

  1. I looked at my Make Nine from last year and I only accomplished ONE! I have to do better this year! I love that Rosari skirt… I have not seen that one yet.The Ginger jeans were on my list last year. I will keep it there since I have everything for them! Happy New Year and I look forward to seeing all your makes. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. notsewsimple says:

      I am the same – I made very few of my plans from.last year – a couple of these are already in progress so I will definitely tick off some this time!

      Like

  2. Hila says:

    These are some lovely patterns. I bought the Talviki during Named’s advent calender sale so I am quite excited to try it out. I like the Rosari skirt too but cant bring myself to buy it as I can draft my own skirts. Your sewnine looks very well put together and would work as a standalone capsule wardrobe. Good luck! Happy sewing in 2017. Hila. x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. notsewsimple says:

      Thankyou! I got the talvikki in the advent sale too – not quite sure what fabric to use as I don’t want anything too bulky.. I bought Rosari a while ago – it’s similar to Hollyburn which I also have but with I liked the button front

      Louise

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Hila says:

        I agree that Talviki doesnt want a bulky fabric. I have some wool jersey that I had bought from Fabworks which I think is a lovely weight for it. Though its jersey, it doesnt have as much stretch as ponte – so I think it hold up well for the collar. I am hoping to get it done soon.
        You just made me realise that I could just add a front button placket to Hollyburn to hack a Rosari! Thanks! X

        Liked by 1 person

      2. notsewsimple says:

        I love fabworks! I may look for wool jersey – I normally love ponte in winter but I didn’t want anything so heavy with a high neck – and I got caught out with not quite enough stretch on my Heather dress…

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh! I love the blue and green dress. Simple but unique! I’m looking forward to seeing what everyone’s #2017makenine choices and makes are this year!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. notsewsimple says:

      Thankyou – it’s a fairly recent burdastyle – I have had limited success with their patterns but I love the style!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

