Once more, with feeling -another Named Helmi

Named Helmi dressHi there

I am really ready for a bit of Spring now – occasionally we get a glimpse of sun and it feels as if brighter days are coming soon, but this afternoon when I dragged Mr Notsewsimple out to take some photos it was still cold and grey. I finished this dress a couple of weeks ago but wasn’t able to get out last week for photos as it rained solidly for most of the weekend…helmi2front3This is my second Named Helmi dress. I made my first Helmi last year and I knew immediately that I wanted to use up this fabric that had been in my stash for a while.

I really want to revisit patterns that I like this year, rather than constantly being distracted by shiny new things. I almost always need to do a certain amount of adjustment to get a good fit and if I can use the pattern more than once then I get a better return on that investment of time!Named Helmi dressWhen I made my first Helmi I mentioned that the fit still wasn’t 100% around the shoulder so this time around I made a broad upper back adjustment to add a little more width at the base of the armscye at the back. My adjustment was the second one shown in this post by Liza Jane Sews. It doesn’t require any adjustment to the sleeve head and also doesn’t add length at the side or extra shoulder width.Named Helmi dressI think this should probably be a standard adjustment for me – working at a computer all day results in a slightly hunched posture which means I need a little more width at the back and I had already taken a little out at the front of the bodice on my first version.

Apart from this further adjustment I kept everything else the same as my first version. I sewed a size 40 shoulder, grading out to a 42 waist and 46 hip. I also kept the darts that I added at the back to provide some shaping.Named Helmi dressThis fabric is a lightweight and drapey polyester print. I usually try to avoid sewing with polyester, but I loved this graphic floral print and the splashes of red. The fabric looks black but is actually a very dark brown. I got the fabric from Clothspot over a year ago and they sold out of it not long after, but I recently found the same fabric available at Minerva Crafts – here  – in more colours. Did you make that also used the same fabric for a shirt dress.Named Helmi dressI may have a few more repeats coming up over the next few months – is anyone else determined to make the most of their patterns or are you all about the new?

16 Comments Add yours

  1. bellecitadel says:

    Very nice! Lovely fabric and I couldn’t help but notice your footwear as well. Love ’em!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. notsewsimple says:

      Thankyou! I am very pleased with my new boots as well as the dress – doubly so because I got them reduced in the sale!

      Like

  2. Anna-Jo says:

    I’m keen to sew a few repeats to save all that time trusting patterns out, but I’m still not sure I’ve found any patterns I really want to repeat all that often!

    I really like your fabric choice on this dress. Polyester is not all created equal!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. notsewsimple says:

      Thankyou! Yes I agree there is such a range of polyester and this one is lovely to wear and was fine to sew with. I have a fee patterns that i have made several times – and plenty that never get another glance!

      Louise

      Liked by 1 person

  3. JaneyB says:

    I love this fabric and I’m absolutely with you on sewing pattern repeats. I don’t always have the time for faffing around with new patterns and tried and tested is the way to go.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. notsewsimple says:

      I feel the same – I have found I am sewing more repeats over the past year

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Janet says:

    Love the fabric choice – both the print and the colours look great on you. On patterns, I should repeat myself more often, definitely; otherwise all my sewing time disappears into an endless fitting quest. But then again that is part of the challenge, and I am also susceptible to the lure of shiny new patterns. Hmmm.

    Like

  5. This fabric is lovely. Keep looking at shirt dresses but worry about them having too much of a straight silhouette, this is great though!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. notsewsimple says:

      Thankyou – I am quite cautious about very shapeless silhouettes which is why I added darts at the back of this one. I am planning a Farrow dress next so we will see how that works out!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. I love the print and the hem line. This looks great. I would make one in every colour! I have collected so many patterns from friends, garage sales, etc. that I probably shouldn’t buy anymore and I love making the same pattern over and over. I have a few favourites!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. notsewsimple says:

      Thankyou! Its always good to have lots of pattern options!

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Lynne says:

    Loving your dress, and the fabric is fab. And off I go to click on the link!…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. notsewsimple says:

      Thankyou! I have been waiting to use it for ages – I’m glad I finally took the plunge!

      Like

  8. I have a serious case of dress envy, the fabric and pattern is the perfect combination, definitely bumping this pattern up my list! x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. notsewsimple says:

      Thankyou! It’s definitely a good pattern!

      Like

Leave a Reply

