One talvikki, two talvikki

Named TalvikkiSo this week I have two Named Talvikki sweaters to show you and a tale of uncertainty, happiness and uncertainty again!

The Talvikki sweater is part of Named Patterns Evolution collection – I love the darts at the neckline and the split hem. I wanted to make a top that was a step above a sweatshirt but with all that cosiness!talvikki_tech

I used the same fabric for both versions. This fabric is from Ditto Fabrics in Brighton, it is a viscose with some elastane. It feels like a lightweight ponte rather than a regular viscose jersey – it is very stable and feels a bit like a sports fabric?

The colour of this fabric is very rich – in both the blue and red – and it has a slight sheen which is really lovely.Named TalvikkiI made the red one first and I initially went for a size 40/42 grading out to a 44/46 at the hip  – in line with my measurements. The pattern is described as over-sized and this is absolutely true! When I first tried it on I was slightly horrified by how baggy it was and I had a really strong feeling that I was wearing an art smock!

I narrowed the sleeves quite a bit from the wrist to shoulder and I also brought in the funnel neck a bit – I really didn’t like the way it stood away from my neck and seemed very wide, so I reduced the slope of the funnel at the side.Named TalvikkiAfter this I rolled the sleeves up to balance the silhouette and I was happy again. I have worn it to work a couple of times and I was feeling pretty happy with it.bluetalvikkifront2.JPGSo, as the fabric was also available in blue, I decided to have another go! I cut the pattern down to size 36/38 and kept the reduced neckline and I think it works better in the smaller size – I feel slightly less swamped. bluetalvikkineckBut… when I look at these pictures I feel uncertain again! I just don’t love the funnel neck on me and the front neckline feels high and pulls on my neck slightly. I also think it seems to hang from my chest in a slightly tent like way.  I think some of the front neckline issues are caused by needing a forward shoulder adjustment but overall I wonder if a cosier and less drapey fabric might have been better?

So – the jury is out….I suspect I will wear this because it is very comfortable and even if it is an art smock – it is a beautifully coloured one with amazing neck darts..!

Have you thought twice about something you made – and then thought again and still not decided?

10 Comments Add yours

  1. Naomi says:

    I have had so many of these! Sometimes I get over it and end up loving the end result, and other times I pay it forward. I also agree that the drapey fabric isn’t working for you in this instance. In their sample they used a type of felted wool by the looks and it seems to have more structure and I think this helps with the less tenty feel. Overall though, two yummy sweatshirts and no-one else will think anything other than how cool they look.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. notsewsimple says:

      Thankyou – I love the fabric and the pattern but the photos really make me think perhaps not together!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Aileen says:

    I am always ambivalent about anything I make myself and usually leave it hanging in the wardrobe for ages before being seen in public wearing it. Having said that I think you’re being over critical. Both tops look great on you.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. notsewsimple says:

      Thankyou Aileen – I think you are right! I have worn it and even had compliments on it – it is just that moment where the pictures don’t quite match your idea of how it should look and the nagging sense of fit being slightly off! I will be wearing both of them definitely!

      Like

  3. Janet says:

    I love the rich colours and your darts at the neckline are so neat and even. I love the style of this pattern, but I’ve shied away from it so far because I was worried it wouldn’t be a great shape on me. I think you might have the right idea on the drape – maybe a thicker sweatshirt fabric would hold its structure more and give a different feel to the garment?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. notsewsimple says:

      Thankyou Janet – I usually love an oversized style but I think there is something about the combination of style and fabric that is slightly off! I may try again if I find some thicker fabric that I like!

      Louise

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I really like this pattern on you, I think it works well with the drape and the solid colour really shows off those darts. I made my muslin in a heavy sweatshirting and it didn’t seem to come up that big. My Ponte version is on the large size though and I agree with you about the sleeves, I think they’d fit a world champion weight lifter with room to spare! I think it’s worth persevering with though so next time I’ll size down quite a bit and sort out the sleeves. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. notsewsimple says:

      Thankyou! The sleeves were definitely crazy big – I have been wearing them partly rolled up to try to balance out the silhouette – I narrowed them quite a bit to the wrist, but they are still bigger than I like at the top? I have taken the split hem which I really like and merged with another pattern which I will post about next week!

      Louise

      Like

  5. Oh, I really like these. Both the neck darts and high side splits really do elevate them beyond simple sweatshirts. The colours are great on you too. Maybe you just need to find the perfect partner for your legs, often the way for me. Have you tried over a slim fitting dress at all? Might work well…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

