Mixing things up – split hem Grainline Linden

Grainline linden split hemHi again

So last week I wasn’t entirely happy with my Named Talvikki – despite really liking the fabric and pattern I just had mixed feelings about them together – thank-you for all the comments and feedback!

This week I took one of the aspects of the Talvikki that I loved – the deep split hem – and combined it with the Grainline Studios Linden tee. There are lots of examples of Linden with a split hem of various lengths online – Grainline have a tutorial here and I was really inspired by this quilted version from Baste + Gather.Grainline linden split hemI have already made a Linden – here – using blue and grey jersey – which I love but it feels a bit casual for work. I think the side vents are a lovely feature that just adds something extra?Grainline linden split hemCombining the Talvikki vents with the Linden was easy – and of course you really don’t need to use a pattern, but I wanted to copy the length of the Talvikki and I am lazy!  I just matched up the patterns at the underarm point and marked a notch where the vents start and extended the length of the back pattern piece. Grainline linden split hemThis was really a quick project – I think it took an afternoon, including combining the two patterns. I had made Linden before so I was already happy with the fit and didn’t make any adjustments. talvikkilindenbackdetailThe fabric is a lightweight grey marl cotton jersey from Ditto in Brighton – where I seem to end up every Saturday afternoon now! As the fabric is lightweight the hem has a slight tendency to roll up – I should make a deeper hem next time to compensate.grainline linden split hemI prefer the slimmer sleeve of the Linden compared to the rather over-sized Talvikki sleeve – although the width of the pattern pieces are about the same I think the Linden feels a little less boxy and I definitely prefer the lower neckline.

I have plans to make at least one or two more of these – perhaps in a heavier ponte fabric with a bit more body?

More tops to come next week – but as spring is almost around the corner it might be time for a dress soon!

 

 

 

 

6 Comments Add yours

  1. great idea. I love the look of that hem it really elevates it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. notsewsimple says:

      Thank-you – I really liked the idea of adding something extra. I have worn this at work with my black jeans and I feel as if it makes the whole look a little less casual!

      Louise

      Like

    2. Janet says:

      I agree – great idea and the hem detail works really well on the Linden 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. notsewsimple says:

        Thankyou! It was very easy but I am reidiculously pleased with it!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I like the room this pattern gives you. I do not like it when my top hugs my body. I’ll have to go look this one up. Nice work on your’s!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. notsewsimple says:

      Thankyou – I liked the Linden very much anyway – after waiting ages before making one! I love the extra something that the vents add though

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

