Back to back – the Simple Sew cross over back blouse (again!)

Simple Sew Cross Back blouseHi All

Summer seemed to arrive really quickly here a few weeks ago with very warm sunny days. Immediately I wanted a breezy summer top which would hardly touch my skin while I tried to keep cool.

Last year I made a first version of the cross back top from Simply Sew – you can check it out here.  I got the pattern free with Love Sewing magazine, but it is available to buy here now.

015_Jersey_Top_Cross-Over_Blouse_I had a lovely piece of white eyelet fabric that I picked up from the remnants table at Ditto Fabrics earlier this year – this one is similar. I have been taking this out periodically and pondering what to make with it, but in the recent heatwave the idea of the cross back top was perfect!Simple Sew Cross Back blouseWhen I made this last year I made a few changes to the pattern as drafted – full details are on my original post. I had to cut the kimono sleeve back a few inches as it was too tight on my upper arm and I also dropped the front neckline about two inches and stitched the facings down as otherwise they tend to flap about. I also omitted the button at the back – the pieces are stitched into place anyway, My version is a size 12 bust graded out to a size 14 at the hip.Simple Sew Cross Back blouseAfter making these changes last year (and thankfully updating the pattern pieces rather than just making the changes on the fly!) I was able to cut this out and sew it all up in one afternoon. The only adjustment I think I still need (which is one that I really need to do more) is a forward shoulder adjustment as I find the shoulder seam isn’t in quite the right place.Simple Sew Cross Back blouseSo – the perennial question with eyelet – how much can you see through it? I am wearing a white bra and although you can definitely tell it is there I don’t think it is necessary to wear anything over it. Simple Sew Cross Back blouseThe other question with this top is whether I am in danger of revealing more than I might like when the backs falls open? I didn’t feel as if I was – the back does open if you lean forward far enough and lifts up a bit in a breeze but that was exactly what I wanted on a really sunny day!

Perfect for summer and a quick afternoon of sewing – exactly what I need at this time of year!

Louise

 

 

10 Comments Add yours

  1. This looks so comfy and cool for sunnier days 😊

    Like

    1. notsewsimple says:

      Thankyou! It is really good to wear on hot days – lots of ventilation!

      Like

  2. sally3888 says:

    It looks lovely, I guess I will have to get my pattern out and give it a go!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. notsewsimple says:

      Thankyou – I needed to make changes to the original pattern but it wasn’t difficult – it’s worth a go!

      Like

  3. Lynsey says:

    Really fab top, I love the fabric and split back! I have this pattern and thinking I really should give it a try

    Liked by 1 person

    1. notsewsimple says:

      Thankyou! I would recommend a toile first as I found some fit issues but once they were resolved I was pleased with the finished top!

      Like

  4. perfect summer top, and for the record I cannot see your bra! so no need to worry.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. notsewsimple says:

      Thankyou! Yes – you can tell it’s there but the fabric is actually quite solid so not at all risqué!!

      Like

  5. Anna-Jo says:

    That does look like a great pattern for the heat 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. notsewsimple says:

      Absolutely – nice and breezy!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

