Perhaps, perhaps, perhaps… the Sewoverit Doris dress

Sewoverit Doris DressHi All

I am back this week with my most worn dress of the summer so far. I made this dress towards the end of last summer and didn’t get a chance to wear it before autumn came – I pulled it out again this spring and thought it deserved its moment on the blog! Sewoverit Doris DressThis is the Sewoverit Doris dress – it is 50’s vintage inspired but has a definite 90’s feel  with the button front and tie back. The bodice is loosely fitted and the skirt has flared panels for lots of movement.

I cut a size 12 bodice, grading out to a size 14 at the waist and hips – though the skirt is not at all fitted at the hip so there isn’t any need to worry about that measurement.Sewoverit Doris DressThe only real change I made was to put the zip at the back rather than the side. This ended up being quite a faff as I had to add seam allowances to the centre back and it affected the order of construction. I don’t have a strong feeling about back v side zips so I probably wouldn’t bother changing it again in future.soidorisside2The only drawback about Doris is that the recommended amounts of fabric are quite substantial – I typically buy 2 metres of 60 inch wide fabric when I intend to make a dress but the pattern recommends 3.7 metres for the longer version.

I used a viscose fabric which had been in my stash for some time – purchased from Abakhan and not at all expensive. I love the colour and the lightweight drapiness was perfect for this pattern. This print is completely non-directional so I managed to get the longer version out of two metres by turning the skirt panels sideways and cutting them on the cross grain.Sewoverit Doris DressThis is the perfect dress for the heatwave we have been having – the viscose is super light and breathable, the bodice isn’t too fitted and the skirt billows in the slightest breeze. The colour and print are perfectly summery – and I say that as someone who is usually not a fan of ditsy florals…

What is your go-to summer dress – any recommendations?

11 Comments Add yours

  1. it’s lovely – I love the fabric. It has a real vintage feel. It does seem unusual that it would nee so much fabric, I usually squeeze anything I want to make out of 2 metres too!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. notsewsimple says:

      The skirt pieces are quite wide at the bottom so in larger sizes you would struggle to squeeze them all in – I could only get it out of 2m by placing them sideways – I suspect you wouldn’t need quite as much as suggested though!

      Like

      1. That’s usually the way. I just cut the Orla dress using one and a half metres by making the skirt a bit slimmer.

        Like

  2. Lynsey says:

    Really lovely dress, so summery and perfect. I always buy 2m of fabric too 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. notsewsimple says:

      I know – it seem like a reasonable amount if it is wide! This is why o have no circle skirts!

      Like

  3. Janet says:

    I can never, ever get a dress out of 2m – I always have to buy 3! Very impressed that you usually manage it. This one looks perfect for hot summer days.

    Like

    1. notsewsimple says:

      Thankyou – I don’t tend to make a lot of very fabric hungry dresses – this fabric was quite wide as well!

      Like

  4. Looks beautiful perfect summer dress. I don’t make fabric hungry patterns very often- too much of a cheapskate!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. notsewsimple says:

      Same here! I do like this though – worth finding a way to make it work!

      Like

  5. This is so pretty and looks comfortable too. I can imagine it in all sorts of colours and fabrics! Nicely done!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. notsewsimple says:

      Thankyou – it’s perfect for summer – very floaty and drapey!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

