Getting to the point – Deer and Doe Datura blouse

Deer and Doe datura blouseHi there – after sharing my latest Port trousers over at Minerva Crafts Blogger Network I am back to tell you about the top I made to wear with them.

I could have worn these trousers with one of my many Melilot blouses of course (and I definitely will…) but I thought I might try something different. I have had the Deer and Doe Datura pattern for ages.  I love the version with the cut out detail at the neckline so I decided to give it a go.daturaback2I cut a size 42 at the bust and shoulder, grading out to a 44 at the waist and hip. Looking at the finished version I think I could have sized down a bit at the bust and not worried too much about grading out as it feels a little loose. I would also raise the underarm slightly. I have read a few other reviews that suggest that this pattern runs a little large (though this may have changed since the pattern was re-issued).

This fabric is a cotton shirt fabric with a tiny houndstooth pattern – which has proved rather hard to photograph! The fabric came from the remnants at Abakhan a few years ago and was leftover from my first Archer. daturadetailThe main feature of this top is the triangle detail – they are part of a fully lined yoke – basically you sew the two cut out pieces together – I found it really helped to mark the seam lines in order to make them accurate. I was a bit nervous about notching right into the triangles to get a really sharp point when they are turned out so one of my triangles isn’t lying completely flat.

The neckline is finished with bias binding made from the same fabric. My top-stitching isn’t the best here – I should have gone for a lighter thread that would have blended in rather than contrasting and showing up all the wonkiness. daturaside1Once the yokes are completed the rest of the top is easy (and quick) to sew. I haven’t bothered to add buttons to the placket at the back – I may go back and add them but (if you are feeling lazy) I don’t feel as if the back needs to be buttoned – it’s breezy on a hot day and isn’t too revealing.

So – another summer blouse to add to my Deer and Doe collection! I have realised that it is now less than a month until I go on a holiday – surely time to squeeze in a few beach appropriate projects?

 

 

 

 

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Lynsey says:

    This is fab, it’s a pattern I’ve always loved but never brought (might now it’s a PDF) love the cut outs 😍

    Liked by 1 person

    1. notsewsimple says:

      Thankyou – I love the cutouts too – it makes it a bit different. Mine came up slightly large so test first!

      Like

  2. Janet says:

    Wow, that neckline is so neat. And it’s perfect for pairing with the trousers.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. The cutouts make this top extra special. Although I also like a top that is loose and comfortable on me, like this one. Lovely!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. notsewsimple says:

      Yes – the cut outs really make it stand out from the usual basic woven tops

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

