Summer breeze – Sewaholic Hollyburn skirts

Sewaholic HollyburnHi there

I could start by apologising (again) for my lack of blogging recently, or I could just skip straight to the actual skirts?

There has been quite a bit of sewing, but I just haven’t been finding time to get photos. So in an attempt to get something posted these photos were taken on my phone before I left the house one morning, so they aren’t the best, but at least there is a post!Sewaholic HollyburnWhen the first hot days hit earlier this year I noticed a lot of midi length flowing skirts around – light and floaty fabric, swishing about as you walk – perfect for summer!

This is the Sewaholic Hollyburn skirt.  I have made various Hollyburns over the past few years. most recently a rayon challis version last year for Minerva Crafts Blogger Network.

This is version B of the Hollyburn skirt, just because that is the version I already had cut out, I added about 10cm to the length and made a very narrow hem to preserve the length. I omitted the pockets this time, because last year I found that they didn’t work that well in a light fabric as they flop around too much. I had previously converted the waistband piece to a curved waistband for a better fit – the post I originally linked to has disappeared but there is a helpful tutorial here.

I squeezed these out of 1.5m lengths of fabric – but only because the print is non-directional – another piece of fabric is currently waiting for an alternative idea because I didn’t take into account which way up my mermaids would end up…

It is a really quick pattern to sew up – I made these in about half a day each – though in both cases I then left the skirt to hang for a week to let the hem drop.Sewaholic HollyburnI have been stocking up on floral viscose fabric whenever I see it this summer – the red fabric is from Thimble and Notch – still available here. I bought this particular fabric on my phone, late at night, in a bar while on holiday, but luckily as impulse purchases go it worked out really well! Sewaholic HollyburnThe blue fabric is from Ditto in Brighton, when I popped in for a quick look around not intending to actually buy anything… I can’t see this particular fabric on their website but they always have lovely viscose fabric , both online and in store.

I will be wearing these skirts pretty much every week this summer I think – who wouldn’t want to swish around on a sunny day?

Hopefully back soon with something else I have made.. you never know!

 

 

 

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Janet says:

    Louise, I love that you actually bought fabric in a bar on holiday! These skirts have turned out beautifully  – and they’ll be perfect for the hot weather.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. notsewsimple says:

      What better time to buy fabric! I also bought some in a shop so it was clearly in my mind …

      Like

      1. Janet says:

        What a great holiday!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Alice says:

    Adore those vibrant flowers, Louise – cool swishing is *exactly* what this weather calls for. I’ll second the support for late-night-holiday-bar purchases too – what better way to capture the mood of a moment? Now every time you wear that print, you’ll be transported back there…. *contented sigh*

    Liked by 1 person

    1. notsewsimple says:

      Thank you! This weather is already making me wish for more summery viscose fabric – I have a few more dresses to come!

      Like

Leave a comment