Top 5 of 2015 – The Hits!

23629879035_9fda75627a_zI can’t really believe that it is already time for Top 5 posts again – I haven’t even finished my autumn sewing (which seemed quite a cautious list at the time..)

Gillian at Crafting a Rainbow is hosting the Top 5’s again and you can find links to all the posts here. I am really pleased to have plenty of candidates for Top 5 Hits and not too many for the Top 5 Misses!

So without further ado – my Top 5 Hits!coatfront1

  1. My first coat – I know I only posted about this a week ago, but it is one of the things I am most proud of this year. The fabric was a real investment for me and I am so delighted that I ended up with a genuinely wearable coat.ultimatebluefront2
  2. Ultimate Trousers – I have made 5 pairs this year – I spent a lot of time working on the fit back in the spring and I have worn every pair many times  – my waist and hip are in different size ranges so I struggle to find RTW trousers to fit and sewing has allowed me to make something that fits as I want it!Simplicity 1364
  3. Simplicity Blogger challenge – Highly Commended! Simplicity 1364. I was so pleased to be highly commended in the Vintage category of the Simplicity Challenge, I really enjoyed making my paisley print button back top and it also got regular wear (with the Ultimate Trousers mostly!) over the summer.m6696side1
  4. McCalls M6696 – white broderie dress. I really love this one, it turned out exactly as I visualised it and it is the absolute perfect summer dress. I am also really happy with how all the shirt details turned out. The only downside is that living in the North of England there are so few days where you can wear a beautiful white summer dress so it hasn’t had a lot of wear.True Bias Southport dress
  5. True Bias Southport dress. There were several possible options for the final hit that all had lots of wear – my grey Sewaholic Davie dress, teal Colette Moneta and my linen Sewaholic Hollyburn skirt. But I am going to choose the Southport dress just because it reminds me of a perfect holiday (and because thanks to SewSouthLondon’s suggestion I have worn it through the autumn with tights and a jumper too)

15 Comments Add yours

  1. I love seeing everyone’s hits. Yours are all lovely, I especially like the coat. I put the Southport dress on my Top 5 Hits this year too. You can give it a look over at my blog if you would like… https://sarahkatecreations.wordpress.com/2015/12/22/sewing-top-5-hits/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. notsewsimple says:

      Thankyou – I enjoyed reading your hits too!

      Like

  2. You have had a good year. Agree that first plac rightly goes to your coat. Good for you.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. notsewsimple says:

      Thankyou – i agree that the coat has been my favourite so far!

      Like

  3. Chris says:

    Good Job! your Top 5 look great and all are very wearable.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Gorgeous, gorgeous, gorgeous! I love them all, especially the coat and shirt dress. I will be coming to you for advice when I summon up the courage to start it!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. All lovely! I love the fabric for No 3. What I would do for that!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. notsewsimple says:

      I got it in B&M fabric in Leeds – it was very narrow but gorgeous colours

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Zoe says:

    I love the aztec-y fabric you used for your southport dress! And go you for making a coat 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. springystitches says:

    A great selection for your Top 5! Love the white dress and your fabric choice for the Simplicity Challenge. I have the ultimate trouser pattern and have yet to tackle these – yours look perfect!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. notsewsimple says:

      Thankyou – the ultimate trousers are a really easy starting point for trousers – I definitely want to make more!

      Like

Leave a comment